Sign in to follow this  

Euro - Experts

When I vote for a government , I am delegating responsibilities to those elected to take decisions on my behalf , not because I dont have an opinion on a subject but because I'm not an expert in all areas , and particularly where international finance is concerned .

Being an design engineer , I dont expect my boss to know how to work out the structural integrity of a steelwork section , that's what he delegates to me . All he needs to know is that I have the expertese .

It makes me cringe , when the media , and some of the people they ask , give their reason for not joining the Euro as " we want to keep the pound " , what a fantastically well thought through argument that realy is , such a sound basis for the finacial stability of this country for the forthcomming years in the face of a growing European Trading Block .

As I alluded to at the begining , I know I dont have all the answers , and thats why I would rather leave it to the experts , without a referendum , which in my opinion the result of which would be based on VERY LITTLE knowledge of the implications , one way or the other .

The only drawback to this is that even the experts dissagree , but I wonder whether this is from , actual reasoning , or inbred preducices , based on Party political Dogma ?

I like that explaination.

Although I don't feel it's finacially the right time to join the Euro, I look forward to the day we do.

It doesn't make me any less patriotic to the UK, but I just see it as the correct way forward in life!