Road Bicycles for Sheffield and its 7 hills!

I'm thinking of getting in on the act with the government scheme of discounted road bikes to commute to/from work and football training.

I live at the top of Rutland Rd, so my commutes will involve cycling up Rutland/Barnsley/Herries Rd depending on where I need to be.

My questions are

1) Can anyone recommend a good road bike with low gears that will lend itself well to the hills that I'll have to climb on it? I'm not a pro-athlete and the hills will take some getting used to!

2) Realistically, how many months of the year are they useable for as the main commute vehicle for a 2/3 mile commute? I work shifts so I could be riding anytime between 6am and 11pm and I'm worried it will be a waste of money in the winter months as I pay for the bike AND lots of bus tickets!

I can't advise re type of bike as my son is at present cycling in the Pyrenees but when here he cycles all year round . Snow ,ice rain are not a barrier to him .I suppose it does part depend on how proficient you are at cycling .He has cycled from here to Sicily and to the Pyrenees on his Dawes road bike .He has knowledge of bike maintenance which of course is a great help .My other 2 sons also cycle ,I think the correct tyres are very important for the seasons .

Good luck and safe cycling !

I used to cycle in all weathers, even in the snow once, so it is possible to cycle all year round. I don't have a car, and at times I could not afford the bus fare, so I had no other choice, apart from walking (which I did occasionally) You can get ice tyres if you are that determined :) My commute was 2.6 miles each way, riding upFox Hill Road on the way home. I have a hardtail mountain bike though, not a road bike.

I now live 10 miles from work, and I have become very lazy recently, I am now a fair weather cyclist :(

The hills will make you fitter, and are a good gauge of your progress, feeling it getting easier/faster.