Government messing with our pensions , yet again

According to the Daily Fail's James Coney today , "workers will need 35 full years of National Insurance contributions in order to claim " the State Pension." . Excuse my maths , but I've been paying NI for 25 years , since the age of 21 , which effectively means that I'll work for another 10 years then be entitled to state pension at the grand old age of 56 ......and yet you only qualify for state pension if you are 65 plus . Can anyone please explain why I will have to work a further 108 months before I might be entitled to such a pension ?

I saw about this but I did wonder how long will this 'initiative' last before its overturned by some other government.

We have to pay NI but I do wonder about my additional pension payments, might be better spending it at Ladbrokes-feels about as safe

I saw about this but I did wonder how long will this 'initiative' last before its overturned by some other government.We have to pay NI but I do wonder about my additional pension payments, might be better spending it at Ladbrokes-feels about as safe

I think the government is just hoping the grey vote will carry them through the next election, which is why they tested the water with a £144pw bribe. To be honest people have already realised it's a con.

And if you're lucky enough to still have a decent final salary pension you will get taxed more.

Looks like it's not only Gordon Brown who likes to raid pensions, with Osborne having done precisely nothing to reverse any of Brown's measures launching his own assault.

Can anyone please explain why I will have to work a further 108 months before I might be entitled to such a pension ?