Local school and the Jubilee Bank Holiday

Because the Spring Bank Holiday has been moved to June for the Queen's Jubilee, and this falls during half term, my daughter's teachers are taking a day off in July (handily the last day of the school year - Friday 20th July) as "Jubilee Pay Back day".

I'm really annoyed at this, they don't reclaim bank holidays which occur in other school holidays (Easter, New Year, August bank hol) and they have plenty of time off, all it's doing is causing working parents to have to tae yet more annual leave to cover what should be term-time, like the 5 training days a year aren't bad enough (that's a week of my precious annual leave gone just in training days!!).

Anyway - are any other schools in Sheffield doing this?? I asked my sister who is a teaching assistant down South, and her school aren't doing it, and even she thought it was ridiculous.

Can I have your opinions please?

All the schools I'm aware of are doing it. As a teacher myself, I don't think it was necessary but the decision was made way above my head.

I'll leave it to somebody else to correct you regarding training days; I'm bored of that one.

The children used to get 14 weeks of the year off. Now they only get 13. The other week was taken as training days for teachers and dotted through the year instead of being tagged onto the summer holiday. It is not an extra week off because they had it already.

As for the amount of time teachers have off....we don't. Working a 60 hour week is the norm, and working through most of the 'holidays' too. The children are off.....we are in, flexibly I admit, but we are working!

As to why I am replying during school hours....I don't work Friday's!

Not a teacher but I will fight their corner.