Apparently it's who you know,..

Hi Sheffield! So, I am posting for the first time here to ask for some advice.

I really am interested in a career in upholstery, but I can't seem to get started!

I'm 30- so over the hill as far as apprenticeships are concerned!

I work full time in retail, but I don't want to get stuck in a rut forever. I am of course glad to have a job, but it isn't want I'd like to do forever.

Can anyone advise how I can get started in upholstery. I don't really know anyone in Sheffield who I can get advice from.

Maybe someone would let me work for 1 day a week for them to get started?..

Hi Sheffield! So, I am posting for the first time here to ask for some advice.

I really am interested in a career in upholstery, but I can't seem to get started!

I'm 30- so over the hill as far as apprenticeships are concerned!

I work full time in retail, but I don't want to get stuck in a rut forever. I am of course glad to have a job, but it isn't want I'd like to do forever.

Can anyone advise how I can get started in upholstery. I don't really know anyone in Sheffield who I can get advice from.

Maybe someone would let me work for 1 day a week for them to get started?..

Have you contacted any re-upholstering firms in Sheff? Google brings up plenty.

Have you contacted any re-upholstering firms in Sheff? Google brings up plenty.

Exactly!

Why don't you Google a list of upholsterers in Sheffield, make a note of the addresses and go pay them a visit?

Go smart and presentable, take a copy of your CV with you and any relevant experience that you've had. You don't have to go ask them for a job - just for advice. Ask questions like,

"How does one develop a career in upholstery?"

"Are there any courses that are run that would be helpful?"

"If you were looking to employ an upholstererer what qualifications or experience would impress you?"