Taking photos in public

I have a question I think will divide the room. As an animator photographer I am very interested in taking photos of everything and anything. Now imagine A full gown man taking pictures in public of other peoples children :shocked:. If you saw this would your first thought be to think he is acting inappropriately?

Just opening it up..... that is all.:rolleyes:

Would it make a difference if it was a big camera on a tripod or a small snappy snap disposable? If he was far away or close up and talking to them? If they were Girls or boys?..... and no this isn't me :gag: its hypothetical, I just want to gage public opinion that is all!

It's hard for us guys these days, I wouldn't see anything wrong with me doing any of the above, but that is because I know me intentions are innocent. I would however get suspicious:suspect: if I saw this myself.

Sometime I can get put off taking a picture, The water fountain in the pease gardens in summer for example because of how it looks. Nobody has said anything so I might be worrying over nothing, but what is the most appropriate way to behave?

Edited by mrth

If you were taking pics of my kids frolicking in water i'd probably smash your face in.

Wouldn't give a toss if you photographed me in just about any situation though.

I guess what you do could be deemed peado activity but as it's a public place you're not breaking any law.

Maybe there's a business opportunity here Peado guards "R" us.

I used to have a full size lion in my front garden made of fibreglass (don't ask), and one day I looked out of the window to see some bloke with a real expensive camera taking pictures of it, he said he was from the University taking pictures of community life or some rubbish.