Hoyle Street Works - Were You There?

Hi there. I'm a documentary photographer doing a project about the the site of the old steel works at Hoyle Street, and the immediate environs. The site is now empty and is marked for development by Cassidy, which seems to have been the case for a long time now.  The only remaining artefact is the cementation furnace - the only remaining one of its kind - which stands like a beacon, a lighthouse, keeping watch over the site.

My interest is in the renewal of urban space and how some buildings which are deemed important remain, whilst others are pulled down, rebuilt and so on, over time.

I'd love to hear from people who might have worked at the works that were on this site (Doncaster's), or the HSBC bank that also stood there - anyone with a memory of this place.

Many thanks!

1927609105_HoyleStreetWorks.jpg.39bf930cc4d929107d151df855020713.jpg

Not quite what you're after but FYI, those Cassidy plans have almost certainly expired in planning terms and won't be happening.

A similar scheme may be progressed by Cassidy or another developer in the future (not within 2-3 years I would bet) but it would be a new planning application/permission required.

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, Runningman said:

Looking at the condition of that Cementation Furnace, is there anyone / organisation that can do anything about it ?

It will soon be covered in vegetation which has got to disturb the brick work.

It was tidied up around 1980 looks like it's been abandoned since.

• Like 1

Daniel Doncaster’s made mainly Heat Resisting castings in Nickel Chrome alloys for furnace parts and furnace furniture.

The Hoyle Street Foundry originally used a bank of graphite crucibles capable of melting around 50 Kgs of metal per crucible.These were oil fired in the  1960s but historically I believe they used coke.