Royal Mail privatisation

Royal Mail privatisation, has it made the mail deliver better or worse?

Does that tell us anything about publicly owned businesses?

I bought shares in Royal Mail, so I benefited from its privatisation.

I can't say I've noticed any change in the level of service since privatisation, although I'm not a prolific letter/parcel poster. I know the number of staff have been cut and some mail centres closed. It did raise a few billion for the exchequer, and removed a loss making business from their books.

I believe the Royal Mail is now profitable, and also pays out millions in dividends every year. Perhaps that tells us about publicly owned businesses?

Why does a public service need to be profitable?

This is skewing of the idea of public service.

Does everyone have do everything purely for what is in it for them?

It seems we have become a nation of spivs.

Its no longer a 'public service', I did get a letter for the next street the other day, but that has happened before.

I took it to the correct address.

I can't say I've noticed any change in the level of service since privatisation, although I'm not a prolific letter/parcel poster. I know the number of staff have been cut and some mail centres closed. It did raise a few billion for the exchequer, and removed a loss making business from their books.

I believe the Royal Mail is now profitable, and also pays out millions in dividends every year. Perhaps that tells us about publicly owned businesses?

To who? Royal Mail was sold off at hundreds of millions of pounds below what it was actually worth much of it to big city institutions. Landsdowne Partners, one of the world's biggest hedge funds made a fortune on the first day Royal Mail was floated on the London stock exchange. Peter Davies was a senior employee at Landsdowne, he was also the best man of the Chancellor of the Exchequer, George Osborne.