Car issue - assistance required

Hi everyone,

I have a noise coming from my timing belt cover, well actually inside it. I am assuming this may be either the timing belt itself or maybe the tensioners? or possibly the water pump which is located just underneath it

The noise is like a higher pitch and is intermittent both when the car is staionary and when driving which leads me to belive that it may be the timing belt. The pitch doesn't change at all, its either present or not.

The belt was last changed at 54K and the car has now done 99K therefore I'm assuming its ready for a change anyway.

I have little knowledge about cars however this would seem to me to be the most logical explaination. I'm not driving it at present as I don't want to find my engine seizing up. If it is this generally how much are they to change? and how long a job is it please. I do have an older car and the area is easy to reach.

Thank you for your time

Hi everyone,

I have a noise coming from my timing belt cover, well actually inside it. I am assuming this may be either the timing belt itself or maybe the tensioners? or possibly the water pump which is located just underneath it

The noise is like a higher pitch and is intermittent both when the car is staionary and when driving which leads me to belive that it may be the timing belt. The pitch doesn't change at all, its either present or not.

The belt was last changed at 54K and the car has now done 99K therefore I'm assuming its ready for a change anyway.

I have little knowledge about cars however this would seem to me to be the most logical explaination. I'm not driving it at present as I don't want to find my engine seizing up. If it is this generally how much are they to change? and how long a job is it please. I do have an older car and the area is easy to reach.

Thank you for your time