I miss film, but...

mr chris

Having moved from 35mm to medium format and finally to digital (purely a timesaving exercise - sorting a shoot out no longer takes me several days of scanning and cleaning), I'm finding that digital photography seems a bit... lifeless.

I miss choosing a film from the 30 or so rolls I'd have at any one time and knowing exactly how it might affect the scene I'd be shooting. Still, I've found the next best thing!

Dx0 filmpack. I got my copy free with a subscription to the British Journal of Photography, but for £60 it's not a bad deal, to be honest. Especially if you're a social photographer (the black and white simulation is fantastic).

Digital needs developing, just like one did with B+W to get the best out of it, it's only 'lifeless' as it's not developed. DxO filmpack effectively develops digital images to replicate film looks. I have various actions I've written in PS to simulate film or to do things not quite like film too.

I do not miss scanning in film, an awful + tedious process.

I miss choosing a film from the 30 or so rolls I'd have at any one time and knowing exactly how it might affect the scene I'd be shooting

When I studied photography at college, this was one of the main things. I had my Nikon 401 (or was it 601, forgotten now). And loads of different films, colour (4 or 5 ISO's), b+w (more) and trans.

I'd forgotten that until you mentioned it. Now, I snap away, and just change things on the pute. :rolleyes:

(it's just too much easier than spending time now)

Just checking that site out now.

I miss the resolution and dynamic range of film, but digital is slowly catching up. But 50 megapixel 32-bit images are going to need some serious storage space, and something a leetle faster than firewire or usb2 to move them about in.