Les and Betty Vickers

Does anyone know what happened to the above who owned Fiveways at Owler Bar, Turnupps at Nether Edge and Stoke Hall in Derbyshire in the 70s?

I used to work behind the bar for them when I was a student and they were always very nice to me.

I once met Les Father Henry who told me that he made money exporting Mackeson stout to Italy after the war also he was the first man to be breathalysed in the UK when the drink drive laws came out. Dont know if its true but he was quite a character.

Hello I used to know the vickers well, Les brother Barry and his wife christine we all used to go out together, remember the nights at stoke hall in for 11pm out next morning 6am

Not sure where Les and Betty are old Henry died and not sure what happened to the mother when they all moved from meadowhead

Betty had a sister Cindy who also worked at Fiveways.

old mrs Vickers passed away some years ago

Les and Betty lived at cockshutt farm off abbey lane and later went bust the last i heard they were running a club in Doncaster

Cindy married he long term BF

hi ron, what does long term bf mean?

ron sorry, penny has dropped. I think the alzheimers has started!

I was behind the bar one night when Les came in and removed the emergency lights, apparently they hadnt paid the bill for them at Stoke Hall and an engineer had gone in and removed them from there. We worked without any emergncy lighting for weeks!

Also it was that red hot summer of 76 when I worked there and the champagne was red hot in the little room behind the bar as it got hotter the bottles started exploding, what a place!