Picking up programming after a lengthy time out.

Epic Fail

Has anyone here ever tried to pick up programming of any kind after spending years not doing any at all? It doesn't matter what kind of programming, I'm just asking generally about getting back into computing really.

I graduated in Computing around 10 years ago and haven't touched any sort of programming since, but I'm in a job which isn't secure and I'm thinking that I perhaps should try to increase my employment prospects.

I've had a look at some old HTML and C+ assignments (that I wrote), and I couldn't understand a single word.

I'm not entirely sure what I'm asking, but maybe some feedback on what it was like for you going back to programming and how fast you picked it back up, if at all.

It certainly wasn't like riding a bike for me.

Ok, ask yourself this question. Do you think that the UK market is now asking for programmers? I don't think so. The IT personnel who exists now and the kind of work they have to deal with is actually more related to sustaining and troubleshooting. There may or may not be some developments, but there are few software houses in this country alone.

I think it is better if you enter the world of analysis and system analysis or even business analysis and project management. You can try and be a tester, which is more structured and it possibly helps.

I also am in the process of gutting out my own book shelf. I will probably keep quite a few books to be honest. I mean, the work that I did at university still has such a strong relevance even in my work now. I could not believe the lack of understanding and knowledge amongst my colleagues. But to be absolutely fair, what you will find is that, the decision never falls on you to decide and to design. It is always what the customer wants, the customer shall get. Just deliver, even if you think that the technical solution is bad. Just deliver it.