Holiday Inn - Manchester Road (Broomhill)

I just went to make a reservation at this hotel and it closed in mid-April 2004!! Could anyone tell me what it is now?? The view from floors 5 and above was incredible...

Please tell me it has just changed ownership! Or will it become swanky flats?!?

Demolition??? Surely not- it's an architectural masterpiece!

That maybe over-stating it a bit but it is a fine structure which, along with the Arts Tower, defined the skyline of West Sheffield.

Does anyone have a link to a website with info about this? Who is the developer?? It must have cost a FORTUNE to buy that building.

I'd appreciate any info!

The interior was a bit ropey... But it is 50 years old!

I have to say I'm really sorry to hear it's going. I studied in sheffield and stayed in that hotel when I first visited Sheffield (prior to university), my parents stayed there when visiting me at uni, I stayed there for my graduation, my girlfriends graduation and since then 4-5 times a year for weekenders (the fondest memories)!

£50 on a Friday night with free gym, pool and, as I mentioned, stunning views...? No wonder Holiday Inn let it go!

I live next door to the old Holiday Inn (aside from the guy in the house who had to deck his garage out in 'original stone' reflecting the area, ironically) - in a different group of flats - I have heard nothing of the building's development, which has unnerved me a little - any demolition work would definitely affect us here... and I wonder if new flats would devalue mine. There's certainly been nothing passed around asking us for our views. If anyone has any extra info I'd definitely welcome it.

Obviously, a lot of things would be better than that huge building with 250 rooms staring out at my french doors!!

"Obviously, a lot of things would be better than that huge building with 250 rooms staring out at my french doors!!"

My thoughts exactly!