When are bedding plants available?

upset

Are you asking about spring or summer bedding plants? I don't thinks it fair to call them "rip off". Would you expect a business to do something for nothing ie not make a profit on their work? To keep plants as inexpensive as possible perhaps you should have a go at growing some from seed? I haven't planted my summer bedding seeds yet as I planted early last year and they were ready for planting out before the risk of frost had passed.

I don't know as I am not experienced in bedding plants. I mean plants that will look nice in a basket.

No, I would not expect a business to do something for nothing. However, I do expect them to charge the same price for the same thing a few weeks apart and not inflate their prices just because of the day you want to buy them being "an occasion".

For example, I bought a hand tied bouquet at the end of January for a person at work going off on maternity leave. £20. I went back to the same florist on February 14th and asked for the exact same thing, also for someone leaving work on what just happened to be valentines day. £35.

Looking at the baskets available now that contain 2 plants and some ivy for £25, I think that is pretty steep.

Seasonal pricing as you describe is to do with supply and demand. I buy potted orchids or other gifts for Mothersday to avoid this fluctuation in prices.