Help me please! Computer virus

canz

Im not good with computers so please try and be patient with me. Ok iv recently within the hour just got these 2 symbols come up on my tool bar at the bottom where time is one is a small blue sheild type and the other a red with a white cross through and when i hover mouse above it says 5964909 , when i hover mouse over them both. and it keep poppin up with window saying somethin about viruses detected and that if i click on this button to solve it , it will fix all the problems so i did but then its sayin 1 years protection and then a price so baisically wanting money. So i gather this is some sort of scam but what i want to know is , is this a real thing and do i have 40 infections like it says or is it somethin that got on my computer and just trying to scam me? how can i fix it? please help me i have msn and a webcam to show the problem if it helps

This is a similar one to the one posted by anywebsite - The exact removal instructions differ from one to another dependant on which one you have (there are a few)

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/virus-removal/remove-fake-microsoft-security-essentials-alert

make sure you scroll down to where it says:

Automated Removal Instructions for *insert name here* using Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware:

This is a similar one to the one posted by anywebsite - The exact removal instructions differ from one to another dependant on which one you have (there are a few)

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/virus-removal/remove-fake-microsoft-security-essentials-alert

make sure you scroll down to where it says:

Automated Removal Instructions for *insert name here* using Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware:

the part where it says download the ''rkill' well it wont let me and it says that rkill is infected or somethin. I guess im gunna have to take it to a computer shop and folk out money to get it fixd :/ great!