What do you think about suicide?

Hi All,

Without trying to be too depressing, I recently started studying Mental Health, and I have an assignment titled "Society's views on suicide".

So I'd appreciate any comments you have: good or bad. Your thoughts on the victim, the victims family, people affected by the incident (especially the train driver in cases where person has jumped in front of train or the person who finds the victim), and the method of suicide would be very useful.

Thanks.

I think that for someone to want to commit suicide, they are in a very dark place in their head, and therefore, cannot be held entirely responsible for their actions because they are not their true selves, but instead, are afflicted with a terrible illness. However, because you cannot see a mental illness, i think that people cannot understand suicide because the pain is not obvious.

Euthanasia - Bad.

It's selfish and cowardly - No matter how bad things are. This is a subject that's quite close to my heart so I'm looking forward to what people have to say, and if anyone agrees with suicide in any form - I'd love to know why.

GazB

my uncle committed suicide. he was a doctor and much loved father and husband. his son found him hanging in the woods behind their house.

he had been depressed for some time, never talked about his problems, his family never knew how much pain he was in.

for such a fun-loving, amiable person to go to such lengths to end their suffering, just evokes enormous sorrow in me.

if anyone is to blame, it is society for not looking at diseases of the brain in the same way as they would look at any other diseased part of the body.

if we did, people would feel more able to seek help in the early stages, when they can be given the tools with which to cope.

I think that sometimes suicide is a cry for help, but also sometimes it is a choice and a well thought out plan and well hidden from family and friends.