Bradfield School

Is there any people who were at Bradfield comp in the early 70`s.

I left at easter 72, and have lost contact with everyone. As I left the area then moved out of Sheffield altogether. Also anyone who lived in the Middlewood Hospital houses in Stockarth Close, now demolished. That was a shock I can tell you. Would love to here from anyone.

I understand that most of Middlewood Hospital has also been demolished. I thought it was a listed building?

i was at bradfield 68-73 and my wife was there 71-76 and i am listed in friends reunited

as to middlewood hospital afaik it was only the clock tower that was listed?

dave

Hi Frank, I didnt go to Bradfield Comp: But I lived on Stockarth Lane until about 1973. I also worked as a telephonist & receptionist at Middlewood Hospital in the mid to late 60's. I remember the hospital houses being built & before they were finished the locals christened them Coconut Grove & Banana Ave?

I knew most of the people who lived in the older hospital Houses fronting onto Middlewood Rd.It was a shock to me when I returned to the UK 3 years ago to see the hospital gone & a new housing estate being built were the hospital used to be. I think only the clock tower has been left & the old gate house at the bottom of the grounds. I think they were also building on what used to be crown land between Stockarth Lane & the hospital (very sad). Our local pub for almost all the hospital staff used to be the Middlewood Tavern which used to be a great pub, but not so now by all accounts Regards Janet

I had my first legal pint in the Middlewood Tavern after the odd one over the previous couple of years. The guy who ran it was called Jack. After that they knocked all the rooms into one. I also used to live on the end house on Middlewood rd I left in 72 my perents left in 77. The firts two houses on Stockarth lane used to belong to the police and i remember a retired copper living there.