Photography courses.. anyone know any?

I've got myself a V nice digital SLR and photoshop. I feel i'm not really using it to its best and would love to do a Digital photo course to show me how to get the most out it. Does anyone know any. I've looked at Norton college but i don't think they start until September and are hard to get on. ANy other ideas?? Thanks

I could give you some help, Cuey. I've been using a DSLR and Photoshop for several years now. What camera do you use?

Get yourself a copy of Understanding Exposure, read it, and go out shooting. Maybe you'll learn more than you think and save yourself a few quid on an expensive course.

I've just booked onto a course with this company - http://www.goingdigital.co.uk

£45 for a one day workshop - I was getting a bit frustrated with my new camera that I got for Christmas so I thought I'd give them a try.

I'm going this weekend, so I'll let you know how I get on!

There are actually loads of websites that will give you hints and tips on using your camera, that won't cost £45 (or even the cost of a book). It's all down to personal preference, really. Some people prefer class based learning. I'm happy to point people in the right direction without charging :)

I had a minolta dynax 5 so the logical upgrade was!!! A nice new Sony Alpha 100. It great and i have got some reasonable photos but its the old thing "more gadgets that skill" I did the same with the dynax set everything to auto and shoot. It seems a real waste to use it as a point and shoot when i know i can do more. The big difference seems to be night shooting and setting it up so you give yourself the best options when you touch it up but i'm a bit vague. I have some great shots from round the world on old film but i'm off to Africa again next year and really want to get more great shots.

(I have some of the Himba in Namibia and by pure chance they are awsome. Animals on the other hand never seem to live up to what you expected)