Sign in to follow this  

Norfolk Park & Herdings tower blocks

Hello :D

My name is Jonathan Smith - I'm an editor for a website called http://www.skyscrapers.com... we compile information on high-rise buildings (i.e. anything over 12 storeys) around the world.

I've been researching Sheffield's tower blocks, from the central library etc., but there are a few bits of info that I need and can't find, so I was wondering if anyone on here could help me.

I'm trying to find out the addresses of the now-demolished Norfolk Park tower blocks; Bankside, Beechview, Cliffe, East Bank, Fitzalan, Granville, Guildford, Howard, Jervis, Mandrake, Shrewsbury, Spring & Talbot.

I know the addresses of Grange & Mickley, the two still standing (for now!), and I know which streets had tower blocks on them... but I can't match up tower block names to those addresses!

So if anyone knows or can remember the addresses of any of the tower blocks (i.e. Grange is 1-251 Tower Drive, Mickley is 1-251 Beldon Road), I'd be extremely grateful if they could post them on here, or e-mail them to me, so that I can complete skyscrapers.com's Sheffield section (which contains ~80 high-rise buildings).

The other problem I'm having is finding the original names of the 3 tower blocks at Raeburn Place, Herdings. 1 was demolished and 2 were refurbished and renamed Queen Anne & Queen Elizabeth Court, but does anybody know what they were called originally, or what their exact addresses were?

Finally, if anybody has any photos of any of Sheffield's now-demolished tower blocks, especially those at Norfolk Park, I'd love to upload them to our site.

Otherwise, please pay our Sheffield section a visit, here:

http://www.skyscrapers.com/re/en/wm/ci/100641/

A list of Sheffield's tallest buildings can be found here:

http://www.skyscrapers.com/re/en/wm/ci/100641/bu/sk/li/2-2-1/

I have some frame by frame piccys (Digital)of one of the Norfolk Park blocks being demolished, let me know if you want them.