A Survey Of (Smells) Memories Of The West Street In Sheffield

Hello everyone, I am a student from the University of Sheffield.

I've recently been doing a survey on West Street and wanted to get some information through everyone on this forum.
The survey is mainly about your memories of West Street (especially related to smells, for example: for me, I think of a few kebab shops there when I mention West Street because I always smell the kebab when I pass by there in the evening.)
You are very welcome to share your memories, it will be very helpful for my research.
Some very old memories of West Street are very welcome, with an approximate date please(Like: 1960s).
Thanks so much for your help.😄

I can recall from the 1960,s the smell of beer and fags.We used to visit all the pubs....up one side and back down the other on a friday and saturday night!

4 hours ago, dsweetman said:

I can recall from the 1960,s the smell of beer and fags.We used to visit all the pubs....up one side and back down the other on a friday and saturday night!

There was only the Mail Coach on that side.

I used to go to Notre dame, just off West St in the early 70's. My memory smell is of the glue from the shoe shop I walked past every day after school. We used to buy our seggs to put on the bottom of our shoes to keep them from wearing out quickly. The nuns were not impressed! 

Further down West St on a side road my grandad ran a building site and I would pop in and see him. So my other smell is concrete, plaster, sand etc.

In my later years it was all about the smell of alcohol as I queued for the crazy daisy and the limit.