Electric oven , hard wired or plug

I am replacing a single under oven. The previous was hard wired. The one I am considering comes with a fitted plug. It is rated 2.4kw.  Can the new one be hard wired and is it safe to do so?   

7 minutes ago, misspedantic said:

I am replacing a single under oven. The previous was hard wired. The one I am considering comes with a fitted plug. It is rated 2.4kw.  Can the new one be hard wired and is it safe to do so?   

Get an electrician.

I will be getting an electrician to fit but i would like to know for definite what is involved before I order the oven .

Is it going where your previous oven was, so wired into the same place? What was the previous oven rated at? Ovens will be wired into their stand alone circuit breaker/ fuse board ( i'm not an electrician by the way) as they are just so energy consuming i.e if you wired it into you normal socket circuit it would just trip the circuit breaker continuously. Usually ovens don't come with a plug, they come with a junction box and the wiring comes from your oven switch to the junction box on the oven. Ask the supplier or don't you know anyone in the trade?

Post a link to the one you are looking at.

Edited by Bash Street

If it comes with a plug it’s fine to plug in  as the oven is rated at around 11amps ...max plugtop load 13amp 

You need to know the load of the oven and what mcb you have protecting  your old wired oven circuit

It’s already stated ... 2.4kw ....divided by ....to make it easy 240v ( nominal 230v ) = 10amps ( 10.4 at 230v )