Would use an App to report problems in Sheffield Parks? - Research

I’m currently studying for a BA in Graphic Design and I’m doing some research for a project.

Sheffield is investing in it's Parks, with Norfolk Park the first to receive funding. https://www.thestar.co.uk/news/council-to-invest-1-5m-in-sheffield-s-parks-1-8422494

There are issues with Vandalism in parks alongside other problems such as flytipping, broken equipment and littering. What I don’t want to see happen is money to be invested in parks and then for them to be destroyed by vandals.

CCTV would help prevent some of this but I feel that an app which could be used to report vandalism and other park issues would help. The app would use GPS to locate you and you could upload photos of problem you want to report, you could also add a phone number or email address so the council can respond.

This app could also be used to notify residents of events occurring in Sheffield parks, for example fayres or if part of the park needs to be closed due to maintenance.

The idea of the app would be that both the council and Sheffield residents help to keep Sheffield’s park in good condition. By keeping residents updated/dealing with problems residents feel that the council is actively responding and are therefore more likely to use the app. Also if vandals feel they are being watched they may be less likely to act (allotments in parks deter vandals/anti-social behaviour).

Another issue I have been reading about is “Friends” groups. For example, Friends of Millhouses park. Although these benefit some parks they can have a negative effect on others. Different Friends groups end up competing for funding so some parks lose out.