At wits end with sheffield council

Hi guys,

Am at wits end with sheffield council and looking for advice and support.

Im a young small trader in first year of trading and put in a claim for housing and council tax subsidy, as after costs dont earn very much as i am trying to reinvest and grow my small business.

its only a small amount of subsidy but it will help me loads.

After 4 months I am still trying to get this sorted. I've even done my accounts early, and given to council in december, still no calculation.

today I got a council tax reminder to pay full amount or I get penalised . Yet, ive phone twice and it just says 'we are not available and our queue is full please try again later'! :(

Even on the original bill which was wrong, they havent even applied the 25% single person discount. I just need to speak to a real person!

i literally cannot sort this out and ive tried so hard in last 4 months to give council everything they need. Its a farce but im tearing my hair out.

Do MP's deal with this sort of thing? I dont know where to turn.

Thanks, Harry :confused:

Go to Howden house and insist on talking to someone. They try to palm you off to a disgusting metal telephone on the wall. But tell them you refuse to use it and you want to speak to someone in person.

I would recommend going down to Howden House with all the paperwork. It's annoying as it probably means you might lose a half day trading but at least you should get some answers then and there. I'd suggest getting there as early as you can, opens at 8.30am.

In fact I've just looked on their website and it now says they offer appointment service ONLY. This is new, I went in only a few months ago to sort something out and didn't need to pre-book...It's the same phone number you've had no luck with as well...