Beginner camera - advice please!

Looking for a bit of advice please! I'm looking for a camera for my partner as a basic start up camera for a complete beginner. It'll be mainly used for taking photos of rescue dogs (as well as our own!) And landscapes on our dog walks... Looking for either advice on what to look for, or recommendations for actual cameras. Probably looking around the £200 mark if possible. I have no idea where to start!

Thanks in advance ?

The Canon Powershot SX710 clocks in at around the £200 mark, and is a very capable point and shoot, with reasonable low light performance (so you don't have to use flash, more natural, less stark pictures). The full auto mode works very well, and it has an alarming superzoom facility offering 30X magnification with it's 700mm equivalent lens.

Shame you couldnt stretch to £269, I have the Nikon Coolpix P7800 and its a great little camera.

splash out on a ok used dslr with maybe a 18-55mm kit lens

your photos will be much better and you will actualy learn something about photography as you go .

sure you could get a used 12-15mp dslr for around that price ..

There are hundreds of cameras at a wide range of prices, so what kind of camera do you want?

I had a sony Rx100 I love it, and I want to get a new, these are the cameras I'm thinking about http://thedigitalcamera.net/sony-rx100-iii-vs-rx100-iv-comparison-whats-the-different/

Edited by bergerr

There are hundreds of cameras at a wide range of prices, so what kind of camera do you want?

I had a sony Rx100 I love it, and I want to get a new, these are the cameras I'm thinking about http://thedigitalcamera.net/sony-rx100-iii-vs-rx100-iv-comparison-whats-the-different/

Very nice cameras indeed.