Road Mannerisms

Evening

Correct me if I'm wrong but as someone who has just relocated to Sheffield, I have noticed the following:

A zebra crossing does not provide a safe crossing for pedestrians

Letting a vehicle out will secure a gestured thank you (less than one in ten)

Am I just being old-fashioned but has anyone else noticed this?

As always, your thoughts are appreciated.

Cheers

I love all debates concerning driving because I do it for a living and and try to be as professional as I can at all times.

On zebra crossings...the pedestrian ONLY has right of way once they have actually stepped onto the crossing! The pedestrian MUST NOT cross or attempt to cross if it's not safe!! A lot of pedestrians THINK they have priority but this is not the case.

When you let a vehicle out it is because you are courteous and like to keep momentum of traffic. If the person doesn't respond then simply rise above it because you have already proved you are a better person and a driver. (Also remember reg number and don't let them out again).

My fave has to be the zebra crossing on the roundabout junction; think it's on/near/or off Barnsley Road.

---------- Post added 20-03-2015 at 21:21 ----------

Indeedy WeedNoMore.

Maybe you are being a tad negative po15aw - noticing all of the dodgy stuff and not the good?

You know like the way you always think your toast lands jam side down when in fact it's more like 50/50!

Just a thought -:thumbsup: Welcome to Sheff.

I wouldn't say that - I've met some fantastic people too and sure that I'll meet a few more . . .

My fave has to be the zebra crossing on the roundabout junction; think it's on/near/or off Barnsley Road.

:D read my post above re zebra crossings

Oops! it is a Z for zebra and not a z :rolleyes: What the hell has spelling got to do with knowing the road courteous procedure (I can spell ;))

I should OF realised....or should that be should HAVE realised :D