Sign in to follow this  

Hecate's Guide to Knitting Socks on Double-Pointed Needles

Part I - Introduction

In my continued quest to introduce the world (well, the Sheffield Forum knitting group, anyway) to the joys of knitting socks, I've decided to write an introductory 'How-To' guide to knitting with double-pointed needles (dpns). I'm going to take you through the basics; from casting-on and dividing the stitches between the needles, to the final knitted product. If I can work out how my camera works, there will also be photos :) .

I'm going to assume absolutely zero knowledge, so forgive me if I cover stuff you already know. I'm not an expert, but I did teach myself over a period of a few weeks just before Christmas last year. During this time, I made loads of mistakes and found a few ways to get around them too. So if you read this, you'll hopefully be able to avoid some of the common errors.

I'm going to be using the example of making a pair of socks, using the lovely Jaywalker pattern from Magknits.

I'll be using a set of five 2.5 mm dpns (these from McA Direct), and one skein of Cherry Tree Hill Supersock merino wool in 'Old Rose' from Get Knitted. Although the dpn's come in a set of five - and that's what I'll be using here - many patterns use only four. It's very easy to adapt to using four if required though.

More soon... :) .

Part II – The Basics of Double-Pointed Needles.

Double-pointed needles are used when the pattern requires that you knit ‘in the round’. This essentially means that you will be knitting a tube of some description; a sock, the body of a jumper or a hat, for example. The key thing is that knitting in the round means that there will be no seams to join.