Fishing in hillsbrough/middlewood

i live just next to middlewood tram stop, been fishing the don a few times as you go out the city but not really keen on it or know how to fish it that well as im still a beginner. Just wondering if anyone can recommend any spots this side of town that are easy to get to on foot or by public transport.

cheers

Can't tell if you want to stick with the river or would accept fishing a pond or not, but the best venue that is closest to you is probably loxley fishery, the bus takes you about a ten minute walk awaY from it.

I can't tell you which bus it is or the Times etc but it's not too far from the admiral Rodney pub.

I think it's a lovely mixed fishery with good fishing and I find it very picturesque sat there.

yer i dont really mind, when i was younger i used to fish ponds but that was near hull, not really used to sheffield yet. I would keep fishing the don but it just seems like alot of hard work

Definitely try loxley fishery then, it's got some lovely fish in there ,

Ecclesfield Pond or Howbrook Dam at High Green

if you're in S6 I think you can get a permit for the pond at the bottom of herries road, it used to be S5's only when I lived at Stannington, but I'm sure they've extended it now...

other than that, there isn't really much accessible in the area

there's cow gap at dungy but the buses aren't what you'd call frequent

there's always the flask, but to be honest it isn't the easiest of venues, I spent the first 2 years of my fishing life failing to catch at the flask... that all changed one march when I discovered they stocked thousands of trout just so they could open it as a 'trout' fishery before the coarse season began

I would suggest hillsbro park, but to be fair, I couldn't sit there fishing with a thousand people walking past or chucking bread/rocks in

loxley is a nice enough fishery, but it's a pretty big walk from any bus stop