Start up Advice

Good Morning,

I am looking for some advice/help/guidance on starting my own business. I currently work for a large organisation; however, I have, for the last 6 months, considered starting up on my own. I am looking at offering freelance Estimating/Tendering/Design/Drawings service in the Plumbing/Heating/Renewable sector. I have over 10 years experience both on and off site. I have NVQ in Plumbing as well as a HND in Building studies. The aim is to start approaching small/medium Plumbing contractors offering my services as a freelance. In time, I would like to progress to larger companies, but also look into the route of offering surveys on project, plumbing, heating and renewable. There is also the possibility to offer cavity/loft insulation surveys and installation, however, this is a friend, but we have both a keen interest in going down the Energy Assessor route to provide new/existing properties with a EPC. Both commercial and domestic. However, the start up aim is freelance estimating/Designing for small to medium projects. I am finding a little bit daunting as I work for a very large and successful company in the Technical office, offering a OKish salary, but I feel more satisfaction when i work on my own, and get a better sense of self satisfaction. To start I will be home based, however, I want to spread my client base through the North of England, offering a simple solution providing a freelance service, when in the long run, it would be cheaper to pay for someone to freelance for a company as opposed to paying someone. theres the whole stage of being quiet and busy etc, and although many small plumbing companies, and one man sole traders can do the pricing themselves, often, they miss out on work because they are late returning tenders/quotes/estimates to clients as they simply do not have the time. I am seeking advise on the best way forward, where to advertise, the legality involved if it can be deemed as 'poaching' customer/clients a