Interested in learning to knit but don't know how to start

Hello,

as mentioned above I would like to learn to knit but I have no idea how I would go about learning. I don't know anyone who knits to ask and as I'm a uni student even if I had any living grandmothers I'd be too far away to ask for help (sorry for the stereotype, my granny was the only person I've ever know to knit).

If anyone has any advice to share I'd really appreciate it. By the by I'm a guy. I hope that doesn't make a difference :)

thanks in advance

Darren

why not join one of the knitting groups? I'm sure they'd love to teach you

If you want to look at a few videos about knitting techniques, this site is very useful (hover over 'Free Videos' and you'll see links to sections on casting on, knitting and purling, for example). A YouTube search will also throw up some similar videos.

If you want a book or two, these two were helpful for me way back when: this one and this one.

Ravelry is a goldmine. Don't be put off by the cutesy sign-in page.

A guy? Wanting to knit? How DARE you - this is the preserve of grannies only!!!! Clearly...

If you're on the web anyway, I second Youtube - I've learned a few techniques there. I also used the "Knitting for Dummies" book. You could try your local library for knitting books.

Or get yourself down to The Wool Baa and speak to Jill!

Hi

We have a new knitting group starting at Heeley City Farm on 16th Feb (there's a thread on here about it) and you're very welcome to come. The young man who will be serving in the cafe will welcome the gender balance being redressed a bit :hihi:

We have more experienced knitters who can help you get started and we'll provide knitting needles and wool for you to practice. But otherwise I'd go with Youtube as others here have suggested - if I get stuck with anything it always delivers :)