The old Northern General Hospital

Does anyone remember the old Northern General Hospital? I was visiting today and drove around the hospital trying to remember where I spent a lot of my childhood on the children's ward. I remember driving up to it and the barrier was operated by a little person for years.

I spent some time there in the late 70's early 80's and loved it. I have fond memories of the ward with picture lights above the beds and the large matron/sister in charge (forgotton her name now).

It looks like most of it has been replaced..where were the old children's wards, have they been knocked down?

Hi jennybongo - I was a student nurse at the Northern General in the early 1970s. The hospital is so much bigger now that whenever I go there I get lost. When I was there, the children's wards were in the upper part of the grounds. As far as I can tell from the "multimap" aerial view the two single-storey buildings are still there, now surrounded by newer buildings but I don't know what they are used for now. Ward 16 was for children between the ages of about 1 and 10, and Ward 17 had a 10-cubicle nursery for babies, and also took 10 to 16 year-olds. I spent three months on Ward 17 and a month on nights mostly on Ward 16. There would obviously have been staff changes by the late 1970s but when I was there, Sister Russ was in charge of Ward 17. Maria Russ [1927-1988] was a large, tough, no-nonsense Yugoslav who ran the ward with efficient discipline and certainly knew her stuff - one of the best sisters I ever worked for. Dr Heggarty was the paediatrician whom we saw most of - an excellent doctor. Here is a photo, taken with Ward 17 behind the group - I am easy to spot! I am standing behind our tutor, Mary Peddle - a wonderful, warm-hearted person, if somewhat scatterbrained...

Edited by hillsbro