History of Sheffield steel industry and people

:loopy:

Please can someone help me?

I am studying for a degree in socoilogy and community studies at Hull University

and would like any information, personal or otherwise about the start of the steel industry, to it's gradual dimise and how it affected indivuals/families. Perhaps there may be someone who started as a boy, following in fathers' footsteps and has a wealth of information that may be usefull.

Thanking you in anticipation.

Cheers

edited to spell Sheffield correctly - max

Take a trip to Kelham Island Museum nand you will find everything you need

Sorry I was late to reply. Can't get to musium as I live in Hull. Do they have web address please?

Cheers

John

If you contact the "Sheffield Shop" on Surrey St, Sheffield they have mountains of books on the Steel industry.

Dont know if this posting is too late.

My great grandfather was killed in the Steel Works in a freak accident. It was reported in the local paper May 1920 when an 8 tonne piece of metal fell on him after a chain came loose, literally crushing him to death. He was still alive when they rushed him to the local infirmary but later died from his wounds.

My grandfather and his brother had to leave school early to take up jobs to help support my great grandmother and the rest of the family as they were the too early. My grandfather took an apprenticeship and went on to become a glass blower.

I have more details of the newspaper article etc if it would help.

Hi, have a look on these links and you'll probably find some useful info:-

http://www.ourselvesourplace.org.uk

http://www.picturesheffield.com

http://www.thenortheast.fsnet.co.uk