Sign in to follow this  

Ziggy Stardust / Pet Sounds

I bought a couple of dvd's from the guy at bottom of moor who sells em second hand.

Ziggy Stardust - Wow, it's been so long since I've seen this. I remember the first time I watched it, about 17 years ago it was on New Years Eve/Day. My folks were having a party and I was taping it. I had been getting into Bowie since 85/86 and the first 'new' song he'd released as i became a 'fan' was Absolute BEginners.

I couldn't wait til the next day to see Ziggy so I went upstairs and watched some on an old b/w portable. I had never seen anything like it! He looked otherworldly and like something I had never seen before and that was nearly 15 years after the actual gig.

Watching it again made me realise what great band the spiders were and what a massive difference to music and society Bowie has had since that time. You just can't get close in terms of influence.

On to Pet Sounds Live. I went to one of those gigs at the Royal Festival Hall and I have to say it was the best gig I had ever been to. Their was almost a sense of fear in the air. What if Brian can't do it? What if it all just sounds cheesy and corny. No one needed to worry. Quite simply the greatest album of all time (radiohead???????? great album but not even close). The concert is a great way of seeing just how clever all this incredible music is. And in the middle of it all, a man who fo rthe best part of 30 years, was an emotional wreck.

Things had been a bit ****ty lately and I listened to it and it blew me away in the same way as it did the first time I heard it. I was shocked that an album that I have known and loved for years could still do that to me.

The lyrics are so emotional and simple and naive that it is impossible to not love them.

"Dont talk, put your head on my shoulder

Come close, close your eyes and be still

Dont talk, take my hand and listen to my heartbeat"

or

"I know perfectly well

I'm not where i should be

I've been very aware