Stronghold and frontline...

After looking after my friends dog i found that my 5 cats and 2 Lhasa Apsos had fleas.. was slightly shocked as my lot are reguarly frontlined. Spoke to vets (couldnt afford to take all 7 to vets) who suggested frontline spray as boost.

Just been told by (my so called) friend that she has had to have her dog treated for mites (well i was conbcerned by his state when he arrived..

After speaking to my friends mum who shows dogs as crufts she has recommmended stronghild ...however after treating them with frontline can i treat them with stronghold

Thanks for your advice :)

hiya i used to be a veterinary nurse so in theory i should know what im talking about!! hehe

i would use frontline combo as it treats ur house/kennel etc as well as ur animal, cause as u prob know the flea eggs drop off ur animal n thrive off warm carpets!! the frontline lasts for up to 8 weeks on dogs 5 weeks on cats so during this time i wouldnt reccommend using another product, but in 8 weeks time u know ur pet and house is flea free u could then use stronghold

hope this helps

don't overdose your own animals!

what kind of mites was this dog treated for? and has it had the all-clear before coming to your house?

I bet your mum won't be visiting for a while now!

I don't think that this is the sort of question that can be answered by anyone other than a vet because the interactions list that is available for reference with human medicines isn't anything like as easily available for veterinary medicines.

I'd be confident in researching human medicines to make sure that there was no risk of making myself (or someone else) ill by taking 2 drugs at the same time, but I can't find any similar resource for vet drugs.

EDIT- no intention to discredit you j118nne- I had to take the hound out during the middle of posting and missed your answer.

Ditto.. checked all google.

Frontline doesnt treat mites .. so need to know if can dose with both.