New Build Flat prices- are they having a laugh?

Ive just seen listings for the new flats down near the wicker/castlemarket area at blonk street) the big tower that looks like it's being built from shiny blue lego bricks!

Price of a 1 bed flat = £140K

Price of a 2 bed flat = £220K

WTF!! You can get a 3 bed house in pricey suburbs of Sheffield for £220K.

Who is going to pay that?! And for WHAT? For a lovely view of the Ford dealership perhaps - the dirty river, or maybe a more lively aspect of the fried chicken shops on the Wicker?

I really do feel that all these new 'luxury city living' (UGH! :suspect:) flats are going to be the slums of tomorrow.

That's nothing. There are far more expensive flats in town which have all been sold.

Don't get me wrong I much prefer living in the suburb of woodseats in a house, but when I was a student it would have been much better to live in the centre close to all the racket and near enough to walk to lectures every day.

I can't see these places selling now.

Have any Sheffield developments been can canceled yet? Most of these new flat developments depend on buy to let landlords and that market is dead.

Muddy Coffee

You're right about students - I once lived at the Victoria halls flats near devonshire green - it was great to be right next to town and within walking distance of uni. However, if people are going to buy these new developments for buy-to-let to students, who can afford to rent them out? They'll probably be asking at least £550 per month! As you say the buy-to -let market has totally gone down the pan - unless they can get any buyers from out of the area? Although still doubtful given the current housing market.

they won't lower the asking prices, but they will offer paid deposits, stamp duty, cashback etc.

so the price IS lower, but the figures that go to the land registry are maintained.

its all a bit of a con really