Writing for publication

I don't know how many of you are hoping to one day be published, or are all ready submitting: but as I've got some experience in publishing and being published, there are some things I have to say.

I've read some of the work that's been uploaded or posted here, and have not yet found a single piece that didn't need further work. Most have spelling mistakes, errors in context and grammar, haphazard punctuation, and are laid out in the most curious of ways.

The most obvious problems are confusing its and it's; they're/their/there; and your/you're. Then there's "must of", which is infuriating (for those that don't realise, it should be "must have").

I don't mean to be nasty to anyone: that's not my intention. If you're happy with your work and don't want to take it any further, that's fine. But if you DO want to publish, then these are things you have to correct.

If someone's feeling brave, post a short paragraph of your work below this (no more than 250 words should be fine), and I'll add comments to show what needs to be corrected. I'll only have a look at the first couple, though, as my typing-time is limited.

something already on the forum or some new piece of work? ps, it is what it is. if something needs more work then it needs more work. no two ways. as ong as the criticism is not gratuitously(pretty sure that spelling was wrong!) mean then it's all good. liked the critisism on the other piece i sent you some time back. thanks.

Hi Peacock Lady, I’m feeling brave and would jump at the chance for an expert to examine some of my writing, here’s something I was working on last night, this is draft + one revision. Approx. 500 words.

Provisional title : The Witness box

“My Name is Catherine Swain, I am what you call a millennium baby, so no prizes for guessing that I’m 44 years old, I am a professor of History at Trinity College, University of Cambridge and I hope to go back to the year 1888”