Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Park Hill Flats, who lived there, and what are your memories of them?

Home > Sheffield > Sheffield History & Expats

Reply To Topic

10-11-2008, 16:20   #1
catherine418

Total Posts: 4
Hello,

I am a student at Newcastle Uni, studying architecture. I am currently trying to write a dissertation on high rise living, and as part of this im looking at Park Hill for a case study. I would like to seek anyone who used to live there, for any amount of time, and any date. I would like to ask you a few questions about what it was like to live there, what was good, and what was bad etc.

I hope you can help me out, it would be most appreciated.

Many Thanks
Catherine
10-11-2008, 16:26   #2
Teabag

Total Posts: 1,337
Pomo hell

Form follows function?
10-11-2008, 17:20   #3
catherine418

lol, i take that is a dig at architects? or a comment about the flats?
10-11-2008, 17:48   #4
Teabag

Total Posts: 1,337
It's still a listed building.

A city in the sky.

A thing of beauty.

Ask yourself this - would you like to send your own family to live there for the next 30 years?

...la...la....la....la.....
10-11-2008, 18:12   #5
catherine418

Personally, from what i know about the scheme, no i definatly would not send my family there, in its current state, maybe once it has been redeveloped, but thats only my point of view, i know alots of people loved their flats and stayed there for many years. I really want to know from primary sources what it was like to live there, good or bad interperatations so i can make a balanced conclusion.

Did you live there?
10-11-2008, 18:38   #6
Plain Talker
Happy Hijaabi

Forum Helper
Total Posts: 43,471
I lived on the other development, originally called "Park Hill II" , Hyde Park.
My grandma lived on Park Hill though. and in the 60's when she lived there it was lovely. (in the seventies, it started going downhill.)
_______
1.5 billion Muslims on this planet...
500,000 muslims in Australia...