Pay slip query - paid too much?

I am a newly qualified teacher and have been working at a school since September. I was initially hired through the supply agency and got paid weekly through them until February half term. After this the school gave me a temporary contract until the end of August this year.

I have just received my first pay slip and have to say I was surprised to see I had been paid so much money - especially since I was told the start date of my contract was after half term (meaning I wouldn't get paid for the February half term?) I have never been told what my annual salary was and have not received a written temporary contract so I am unsure what it actually is. I doubt that the money I have been paid is correct for an NQT. Could I have been put on a higher pay spine or is this most likely an error? I would be surprised if the council/HR would make such a big error but like I say I have never received confirmation of what my actual annual salary is.

Can they make you pay the extra money back if it is their error?

They won't make you pay any real money back, but they will just adjust your pay to get it back. This may result in the pay packet they sort it out in being very much smaller than usual so I would save what you think you have been overpaid until you can check what your salary is.

You should be able to do this easily - get it in writing.

Good luck - hopefully your pay is correct!

Surely you should have gotten a written contract!

Did you not discuss your salary?

Without the contract then I'm not sure what you can do. Doubt if they can adjust your pay if they've given you nothing in writing.

Strongly recommend getting a written contact ASAP.

Written contracts are a bit lax in the school I am at. I know of a teacher at his other school (we have an exec head who manages us) that has only just got her permanent contract in writing despite working at the school for 3 years.