Planting out courgettes

I started off a load of courgette and squash plants in the house and then planted them out, as it said on the packet to do that in May.... only for every one of them to be killed by slugs eating through the stems!

Luckily I kept some back in the greenhouse so I can have another try.

My question is, should I just keep them in the greenhouse for longer until they're a lot bigger? Will the stems eventually be too thick for slugs to kill them in one go??

Or, should I do something else?

I'm new to growing veg and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing! I've got some pepper and tomato plants in my greenhouse too.

I also have some pea and bean seeds - should I plant these straight out? There's already an A-frame in place, but if they go straight out will they be instantly killed by slugs?

It is really a bit early to plant out courgettes: cold nights will see them off, and we can't really guarantee frost-free nights until June. You may be OK, but they don't like the cold.

I use copper rings to keep slugs at bay on individual plants until they are large enough to manage on their own, but this is an expensive option. You can also try coffee grounds, ground up eggshells or purchase wool pellets at a garden centre (they swell up to a sort of felt).

If you go down the slug pellet route, use the environmentally more friendly ferric sulphate ones rather than metaldehyde - and don't use too many, a very thin scattering is adequate. You can catch slugs in beer traps ... yoghurt pots sunk to within 1/2 inch of the rim, with an inch or so of beer in the bottom.

The peppers and tomatoes will both be very much happier growing in your greenhouse than outside. Both need warmth, and indoors the tomatoes will have thinner skins and won't get blight.