Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Best Internet Provider S20

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-08-2018, 21:02   #1
hackey lad
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Total Posts: 4,320
Anyone know of good internet providers in s20 area ?. Currently with Sky but its poor , 2 mbps tonight and that's with a new hub 2 weeks ago after I complained . Im not very tech savvy so any help would be appreciated
  Reply With Quote
18-08-2018, 22:15   #2
Pyrotequila
Registered User
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Total Posts: 249
If you're getting such a low speed then it's likely that you're either a long way from your exchange, and so changing to another ADSL provider won't make any difference, or that you have a fault with your line.
Distance is the most likely.

Look for a provider that supplies fibre broadband, many of them do, even Sky.
That's the only way you're really going to get a good Internet speed.
_______
It's all a personal opinion and doesn't reflect the thoughts of any companies or organisations, just me, and I love a laugh :-)
  Reply With Quote
18-08-2018, 22:22   #3
hackey lad
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Total Posts: 4,320
ok thanks for that Just looked at that. Even though been with sky 20 years they want a 60 connection fee for fibre .

Last edited by hackey lad; 18-08-2018 at 22:53.
  Reply With Quote
18-08-2018, 22:53   #4
simonj
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Total Posts: 1,641
I'm in S20. Moved from BT to Sky broadband unlimited about 10 years ago and went from around 1-2Mbs to 15Mbs (it was advertised as up to 20 Mbs). As the years went by this gradually decreased to around 7-8 Mbs so I recently took up a Sky offer for an 18 month free upgrade to fibre unlimited and I'm now getting around 37Mbs. It's going to cost me another 14 a month when the offer ends but right now I'm more than happy that I can finally stream stuff at the same time as my daughter without it dropping out all the time
_______
"Is there anybody in there, just nod if you can hear me"
  Reply With Quote
18-08-2018, 23:13   #5
hackey lad
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Total Posts: 4,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonj View Post
I'm in S20. Moved from BT to Sky broadband unlimited about 10 years ago and went from around 1-2Mbs to 15Mbs (it was advertised as up to 20 Mbs). As the years went by this gradually decreased to around 7-8 Mbs so I recently took up a Sky offer for an 18 month free upgrade to fibre unlimited and I'm now getting around 37Mbs. It's going to cost me another 14 a month when the offer ends but right now I'm more than happy that I can finally stream stuff at the same time as my daughter without it dropping out all the time
Yes , Im on sky broadband unlimited now . Supposed to be up to 6mbps but very rarely get anything like that
  Reply With Quote
18-08-2018, 23:31   #6
spider1
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Total Posts: 3,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackey lad View Post
Yes , Im on sky broadband unlimited now . Supposed to be up to 6mbps but very rarely get anything like that
If you been with sky more than 15 yrs you should be a diamond member like me my broadband is on fibre 35 mbps up from 2mbps on free for 12 months as took an 18 month deal . You have to hassle to get a good deal .
Also i am a long way from B. T. Box

---------- Post added 18-08-2018 at 23:36 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonj View Post
I'm in S20. Moved from BT to Sky broadband unlimited about 10 years ago and went from around 1-2Mbs to 15Mbs (it was advertised as up to 20 Mbs). As the years went by this gradually decreased to around 7-8 Mbs so I recently took up a Sky offer for an 18 month free upgrade to fibre unlimited and I'm now getting around 37Mbs. It's going to cost me another 14 a month when the offer ends but right now I'm more than happy that I can finally stream stuff at the same time as my daughter without it dropping out all the time
When offer ends have another go at them they always come up with another offer if you sign for 18 months
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2018, 00:10   #7
hackey lad
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Total Posts: 4,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider1 View Post
If you been with sky more than 15 yrs you should be a diamond member like me my broadband is on fibre 35 mbps up from 2mbps on free for 12 months as took an 18 month deal . You have to hassle to get a good deal .
Also i am a long way from B. T. Box

---------- Post added 18-08-2018 at 23:36 ----------



When offer ends have another go at them they always come up with another offer if you sign for 18 months
Cheers Spider . Could you tell me more about this diamond member thing
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2018, 00:14   #8
simonj
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Total Posts: 1,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider1 View Post
If you been with sky more than 15 yrs you should be a diamond member like me my broadband is on fibre 35 mbps up from 2mbps on free for 12 months as took an 18 month deal . You have to hassle to get a good deal .
Also i am a long way from B. T. Box

---------- Post added 18-08-2018 at 23:36 ----------



When offer ends have another go at them they always come up with another offer if you sign for 18 months
Good advice I've been with them for nearly 25 years so I'll definitely be pushing for a deal of some kind.
_______
"Is there anybody in there, just nod if you can hear me"
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2018, 08:04   #9
willman
WYSIWYG
willman's Avatar
 
Moderator
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: north east derbyshire
Total Posts: 19,591
Send a message via ICQ to willman Send a message via MSN to willman
I upgraded to the new 2tb skyq box - now to watch UHD programmes your speed needs to be as good as possible. Mine kept dropping out so they actually came and hardwired my sky q box to the hub free of charge (externally for me) i'm on unlimited but not fibre and it produces 17/18 meg. I assume in s20 you'll be on the same exchange as i am.
So i got a better viewing package and the broadband upgraded for free(well not really i s'pose)
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2018, 09:52   #10
spider1
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Total Posts: 3,195
[QUOTE=hackey lad;11914078]Cheers Spider . Could you tell me more about this diamond member thing

You are going to have to commit yourself to sky to get there best deals ;
Sky talk to start with i got 2 brand new i phone 5 with unlimited call calls and text / Put My sky App on the phones to get you a direct line to sky cost 20
month all in includes phone . I was paying more to E E for phone calls so stopped E E straight away . My sky fibre 35 mgh is 11 a month and there was no connection fee as i am on Sky VIP Diamond 15 years member plus.
Phone sky tell them you want diamond v i p because you have been with them 15 years plus Be warned they will want you to commit to another 18 months membership but that seems no prob cause you have been with them 20 years.
Tell sky you want fibre think you will get it free // Sky talk is brill and remember calls to sky are free. Tip when you phone sky keep saying no to all
questions till they put you through
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2018, 09:54   #11
iansheff
Registered User
iansheff's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Total Posts: 6,620
I am in S12, and use EE, up to last November I was on standard BB which was less than 2mb download. They mailed to say they were putting the price up, they also had a fixed price offer on fibre 25 for 18 months which was about 50p more than the standard would be after the increase. The only thing I lost was the free evening and weekend calls but as I never use the landline it made no difference.
  Reply With Quote
19-08-2018, 22:33   #12
swarfendor43
Registered User
swarfendor43's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Total Posts: 6,271
Extract from a chat with TT when they increased my prices and negotiations with their Loyalty Team:

"Me:*What length is 24.50 for then?

TT Chat:
The 24.50 is for 24 months, however the boosts will run out of discounts in five months.

Me:*What are the current two boosts then as you only mentioned UK calls.

TT Chat:
The other is the fibre speed boost, which allows your speed to be an average of 63mbps.

Me:*That is unrealistic as I don't live on a road with fibre to the house. That is why I had the obsolete medium fibre package.

TT chat:
Would you like to cancel off the fibre speed boost?

Me:*What will the speed be without? At the moment all I get is 2 mbps.

TT Chat:
J, you are not getting 2mbps. My system shows that with boost you are receiving*79.7 mbps on your lowest download.

TT Chat:
Without the boost, you get an average of 35mbps.

Me:*When I download GNU/Linux isos it only shows 2 mbps if I'm lucky due to copper connection to the cabinet at the bottom of the road

TT Chat:
I see, may I ask if you have you spoke to our technical team before about this matter?

TT Chat:
spoken*

Me:*There is physically no point unless they have the alchemy skills to turn copper into glass! LOL!"

Need I say more?
  Reply With Quote
20-08-2018, 16:37   #13
ez8004
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Total Posts: 1,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarfendor43 View Post
Extract from a chat with TT when they increased my prices and negotiations with their Loyalty Team:

"Me:*What length is 24.50 for then?

TT Chat:
The 24.50 is for 24 months, however the boosts will run out of discounts in five months.

Me:*What are the current two boosts then as you only mentioned UK calls.

TT Chat:
The other is the fibre speed boost, which allows your speed to be an average of 63mbps.

Me:*That is unrealistic as I don't live on a road with fibre to the house. That is why I had the obsolete medium fibre package.

TT chat:
Would you like to cancel off the fibre speed boost?

Me:*What will the speed be without? At the moment all I get is 2 mbps.

TT Chat:
J, you are not getting 2mbps. My system shows that with boost you are receiving*79.7 mbps on your lowest download.

TT Chat:
Without the boost, you get an average of 35mbps.

Me:*When I download GNU/Linux isos it only shows 2 mbps if I'm lucky due to copper connection to the cabinet at the bottom of the road

TT Chat:
I see, may I ask if you have you spoke to our technical team before about this matter?

TT Chat:
spoken*

Me:*There is physically no point unless they have the alchemy skills to turn copper into glass! LOL!"

Need I say more?
Commercially used telecommunications optic fibre is not made of glass LMAO
  Reply With Quote
20-08-2018, 18:43   #14
swarfendor43
Registered User
swarfendor43's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Total Posts: 6,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by ez8004 View Post
Commercially used telecommunications optic fibre is not made of glass LMAO
"So what are optical fibers made of, anyway?

Turns out they can be made of just glass, glass plus polymers, or just polymers ("plastic optical fibers" -POF-)."

http://pslc.ws/macrog/fiberopt/of.htm

  Reply With Quote
28-08-2018, 20:16   #15
walkertelecoms
Registered User
walkertelecoms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Total Posts: 1,862
I'm at S20 and get 50mb all day long with EE (non superfast)
_______
Telephone Line & Data Engineer Sheffield & South Yorkshire
Line Extensions, Relocations, Repairs, Broadband, FreeSat & Sky Magic Eye, Data.
Tel: Free 0800 294 2070 / Mobile 078 543210 24

www.walkertelecoms.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:37.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2017 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2018