Gmail gone ultra secure?

I've been using gmail for a couple of years with no problem and suddenly they wanted me to tell them my mobile phone number and my second computer's ISP number and include them plus my desktop ISP in one group reference. They hardly explained the reason so when I didn't see the need for this I didn't do it. Maybe I should have done because now they refuse to let me into my gmail account. I went to Account Recovery and was told to send my mobile number and they would return a security code number which I was to send back to them to prove my identity. But when I tried this they said my mobile was not recognised and they wouldn't cooperate. The same thing happened when I used my second computer. So since they are playing silly buggers they've lost another customer. The inconvenient thing about opening another account is that I have to tell all my contacts my new address. Has anyone else had this gmail nonsense applied?

Nope.

That's not Gmail.

You have been phished

I tried your advice and got the same result ie they would not connect me to my account. Why would a phisher do that?

I agree with Easy livin, sounds very dodgy. Also what do you mean by and ISP number i've never heard of such a number. Do they mean IP address, if so this has absolutely no relevance to a gmail account. PC IP address are internalk to your home devices on your local network/router

Have you set a recovery email address and or phone number, if so on the following link, click the sign in box ( upper right )

Enter your email address

Click forgot email

A new email password should be sent to your recovery email address

https://www.google.com/gmail/about/

Interesting article in the Independant:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/news/google-gmail-account-hacked-password-security-phishing-keyloggers-hack-checkup-a8048416.html