Sheffield Forum

Will any Windows 7 CD work in any laptop?

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
06-12-2017, 18:35   #1
TyneSoft
Registered User
TyneSoft's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2017
Total Posts: 26
Hi all

I want to downgrade a Win8 and/or Win10 laptop to Win7. The question is, if I buy a Win7 CD from eBay, will it work?

Or does the CD have to be specific for a certain laptop?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
06-12-2017, 19:46   #2
Ghozer
Are you a God!?
Ghozer's Avatar
 
Forum Helper
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: I live, Alone... Age: Too Old!
Total Posts: 14,357
It's not the CD, any CD will work in any laptop,.. however, it's the Serial Number/Key that's important...

there are different versions of Windows 7 (8 or 10) There's Home Basic, Home, Pro and Enterprise etc...

The version of windows installed, is determined by the Serial number, not the disk..
_______
Life is a tool, use it wisely and properly. Don't break it, because you can't exchange it if you do.
Life is an instrument, it needs regular cleaning, maintenance and tuning to keep it at its best.

Fear, is not knowing. Terror, is finding out.
  Reply With Quote
06-12-2017, 20:38   #3
neeeeeeeeeek
Sumatran rat-monkey
neeeeeeeeeek's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: meersbrook
Total Posts: 14,675
It it's a new laptop there might not be drivers for Windows seven either
_______
Peeple of zee wurl, relax!
  Reply With Quote
06-12-2017, 20:43   #4
TyneSoft
Registered User
TyneSoft's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2017
Total Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghozer View Post
It's not the CD, any CD will work in any laptop,.. however, it's the Serial Number/Key that's important...

there are different versions of Windows 7 (8 or 10) There's Home Basic, Home, Pro and Enterprise etc...

The version of windows installed, is determined by the Serial number, not the disk..
The laptop I've got has been upgraded to Win10. I don't know what version of Win7 it had on before.

What would the next step be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by neeeeeeeeeek View Post
It it's a new laptop there might not be drivers for Windows seven either
The laptop's been upgraded from Win 7/8 to Win10.
  Reply With Quote
06-12-2017, 21:20   #5
neeeeeeeeeek
Sumatran rat-monkey
neeeeeeeeeek's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: meersbrook
Total Posts: 14,675
Look on the bottom, if it had 7 on before you might have a key, or might be under the battery. See what version it says it was, home, Pro or whatever. Did your do the upgrade? You might be able to roll back to 7 but a clean Install would be better. If you can't roll back and don't have a cd that came with it then you just need to down load or borrow a cd version that Matches the key on the bottom
_______
Peeple of zee wurl, relax!
  Reply With Quote
06-12-2017, 21:47   #6
The Joker
Registered User
The Joker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Total Posts: 4,340
what make and model laptop is it?

Large OEM manufacturers like Dell supply their own customised Windows 7 installation DVDs that automatically activate Windows offline.

If you can get hold of one of these for your make of laptop, it should work
  Reply With Quote
06-12-2017, 22:24   #7
TyneSoft
Registered User
TyneSoft's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2017
Total Posts: 26
Thanks guys. And it has a Win10 sticker on it but no mention of a key. It's an Asus X553M laptop btw.

And when I looked into one of the settings options, it said something about reverting back to Win7. To be precise it was control panel > system and security > back up and restore (Windows 7).

Does that mean the laptop originally was a Win7 one even though there's no sticker to suggest it was?
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 00:56   #8
swarfendor43
Registered User
swarfendor43's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Total Posts: 5,904
Your main consideration is to establish if it is 32-bit or 64-bit. Windows 7 Notebooks normally had their CoA on the underside of the Notebook. If it was an upgrade to 10 from 7 then I would guess a factory restore should take it back to Windows 7.
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 06:17   #9
Mikes10
Registered User
Mikes10's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Total Posts: 1,635
What makes you think it will work with W7?

Looking at that the ASUS web site, its supplied with W8, ASUS do not appear to have W7 drivers.


https://www.asus.com/uk/Laptops/X553MA/HelpDesk_Manual/


Options:

A) Abandon the idea of installing W7
B) Treat yourself to A W7 disc with activation key, try and install W7.

If you choose option B, post back here on the success/ failure.
_______
Mike

"Space isn't remote at all. It's only an hour's drive if your car could go straight upwards." Fred Hoyle, English astronomer and physicist. 1915 - 2001
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 10:35   #10
Jomie
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Total Posts: 796
OP - before attempting an install of Windows 7, remember to do a back up of the Windows 10 that you now have. Windows 7 end of life is 14th January 2020 so you will then need to reinstall the current operating system if you want to stay safe online.
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 11:15   #11
alchresearch
Registered User
alchresearch's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Southport
Total Posts: 29,399
Send a message via Yahoo to alchresearch
Stick with Windows 10 and use Classic Start Menu. That makes it a bit more bearable.
_______
Peugeot & Citroen Diagnostics Specialist. PM for details.
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 16:28   #12
TyneSoft
Registered User
TyneSoft's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2017
Total Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarfendor43 View Post
Your main consideration is to establish if it is 32-bit or 64-bit. Windows 7 Notebooks normally had their CoA on the underside of the Notebook. If it was an upgrade to 10 from 7 then I would guess a factory restore should take it back to Windows 7.
I did a factory reset not too long ago and there was no option of going back to Win7. If there was, sadly it didn't happen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikes10 View Post
What makes you think it will work with W7?

Looking at that the ASUS web site, its supplied with W8, ASUS do not appear to have W7 drivers.


https://www.asus.com/uk/Laptops/X553MA/HelpDesk_Manual/


Options:

A) Abandon the idea of installing W7
B) Treat yourself to A W7 disc with activation key, try and install W7.

If you choose option B, post back here on the success/ failure.
Will any Win7 disc with any activation key work? - Whether an original or copy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jomie View Post
OP - before attempting an install of Windows 7, remember to do a back up of the Windows 10 that you now have. Windows 7 end of life is 14th January 2020 so you will then need to reinstall the current operating system if you want to stay safe online.
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alchresearch View Post
Stick with Windows 10 and use Classic Start Menu. That makes it a bit more bearable.
I'll have a try with that.
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 21:30   #13
neeeeeeeeeek
Sumatran rat-monkey
neeeeeeeeeek's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: meersbrook
Total Posts: 14,675
If you don't use much space on the drive then buy a 64, 128 or 256 GB SSD and stick that in. You can then go back to your win10 install by swapping back if you need to. If win7 is OK then the machine will fly with an SSD installed instead of the hard drive. MUCH MUCH faster! Actually stick an SSD in in regardless of OS, it will be like a new laptop!

It's a pretty generic laptop, win7 should be fine, there is nothing out of the ordinary in the machine.
_______
Peeple of zee wurl, relax!

Last edited by neeeeeeeeeek; 07-12-2017 at 21:34.
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 21:46   #14
Mikes10
Registered User
Mikes10's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Total Posts: 1,635
Will any Win7 disc with any activation key work? - Whether an original or copy?



See the link below for an explantion in M$ keys


https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/...enuinewindows7
_______
Mike

"Space isn't remote at all. It's only an hour's drive if your car could go straight upwards." Fred Hoyle, English astronomer and physicist. 1915 - 2001
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 21:54   #15
neeeeeeeeeek
Sumatran rat-monkey
neeeeeeeeeek's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: meersbrook
Total Posts: 14,675
The key needs to match the version. 32 or 64 bit and home premium or pro will need matching keys.
_______
Peeple of zee wurl, relax!
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 23:07   #16
Dardandec
Derrick Dardan
Dardandec's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Waterthorpe
Total Posts: 1,456
The "bit" version is irrelevant, they key will work on both 32 or 64 bit provided its the correct version ie "home" or "pro" etc
  Reply With Quote
07-12-2017, 23:12   #17
neeeeeeeeeek
Sumatran rat-monkey
neeeeeeeeeek's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: meersbrook
Total Posts: 14,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dardandec View Post
The "bit" version is irrelevant, they key will work on both 32 or 64 bit provided its the correct version ie "home" or "pro" etc
It will, my mistake. You need the right version but either 32 or 64 bit doesn't matter.
_______
Peeple of zee wurl, relax!
  Reply With Quote
08-12-2017, 06:45   #18
Jomie
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Total Posts: 796
Here is the link to Classic Shell. It is a free download. You don't say why you want to downgrade to Windows 7 but if it is just the start menu that you are troubled by then Classic Shell should help. Start8 is similar.

You might not need this add on - How to customize the Windows 10 start menu is just one of many articles on the subject. Spend a little time studying it and you might grow to like it. With Windows 10 there is no need to go scrabbling about looking for programmes; just type the first two letters into the search bar (next to the Windows icon) and it will bring up the programme automatically. You can also activate Cortana and ask it to bring up the thing that you want.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-2017, 13:33   #19
Trickle
Registered User
Trickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Total Posts: 1,002
This is a recipe for disaster. Don't do it. Make sure you have a way of putting the original 8/10 back on first when this plan goes south.

To answer the question. You don't buy a CD from ebay. Just download one the usual way*. What you are buying is a license. And you are too likely to end up with snake oil from ebay.

* Unless forum rules have changed over the years I can't elaborate.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-2017, 14:52   #20
esme
raddled old hag
esme's Avatar
 
Admin Team
Joined: May 2006
Location: lost in time, lost in space and meaning
Total Posts: 42,836
ASUS machines have their preinstallation kit on a hidden partition unless someone has removed it.

First off make an image backup of the current system using something like Acronis, this is so you can restore the system to the current state if anything goes wrong.

Then you should be able to factory reinstall the system to it's original windows version & license by pressing F9 just after you power the system up & picking the option that installs to the C drive as this will save any other partitions you have.

It's a bit like the F8 windows menu if you don't do it in a very short window of time windows will boot normally, in which case shut down & try again.

It will reinstall all of the ASUS bloatware and take a dogs age to complete with multiple reboots
_______
A persons worth is not decided by the colour of their skin, religion, sexual orientation, gender or ability.
It is decided by their words, deeds and how they treat their fellow human beings.
There are other forums if this gives you a problem.
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:12.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2017 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2017

Nimbus Server