Health & Safety gone mad

I work in a hospital so am quite concious regarding health & safety.

But can you believe it my 7 year old daughter has broken her ankle & got a cast on up to her knee. Its a straight forward break & should take 3 - 4 weeks to heal.

The hospital dr says she's ok for school even after i mentioned we have a large hill to walk up.

She has what is known as a walking pot on a walks slower than normal with a slight limp.

Guess what her school won't allow her to attend for the duration of the time that she has the cast on for health & safety reasons. If there was a fire she wouldn't get out & the best one is she might stumble on another child causing them an injury. Don't kids do that on a daily basis?

They will send work home for her daily & she will still get her mark!

But i am a working mum, can't get sick pay as i'm not sick, so i get no pay but still have all the usual things to pay.

Don't get me wrong I don't consider school to be a glorified babysitter but doesn't the government insist once a child starts school, these single mums should go to work, how can they when there are rules like this about?

I have asked if i can get some kind of help from social services, tax credits & educational welfare but apparently not.

I can't help thinking I should go on benefits & get everything entitled to but because I have always worked for a living its tough.

So because of health & safety gone mad I can't afford to pay my rent which means the right to buy i have just put in for is up in smoke.

Anyone else had simialr problems, advice greatly accepted.

How ridiculous. Ask the hospital to provide her with a wheelchair. The school cannot refuse to allow children who use a wheelchair in as it would be against the disability discrimination act. Albeit she may only have a temporary 'disability', but the same rules should apply. The world is going H&S mad, when I was at school there were people with casts/crutches/wheelchairs all the time.