Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Anyone else getting a poor/no TV signal

Home > Sheffield > Sheffield News & Discussions

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-09-2011, 20:17   #1
FreudianSlap
Registered User
FreudianSlap's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Total Posts: 98
I usually get an amazing signal, this evening I've got zippo. Its definitely not my equipment as I have the same problem on two TV's and I have tried retuning them both. I have looked on the internet for transmitter problems at Emley moor and not found any mention of an issue this evening. Is anyone else experience no/noticeably bad reception this evening, and if so does anyone know if it has anything to do with the switchover?
_______
The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources...
  Reply With Quote
05-09-2011, 20:45   #2
KoalaFamily
Registered User
KoalaFamily's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Total Posts: 237
Yes - I've had to turn the HD channel/s over. I think it's the weather. When it rained heavy the signal went. All ok now though
  Reply With Quote
05-09-2011, 20:54   #3
Miss Creant
Registered User
Miss Creant's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Deepcar
Total Posts: 482
Yep problems here too I assume it is either heavy rain or the wind.
  Reply With Quote
06-09-2011, 15:15   #4
Quint
Registered User
Quint's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Amity Island
Total Posts: 200
The Emley Moor Transmitter which serves more 4 million people across Yorkshire will switch to digital as of midnight tonight.

For anyone struggling to retune their boxes or need assistance New Channels in Sheffield are running a re-tune service. www.newchannels.tv 0114 3210704
_______
Digital TV & Solar Specialists
www.solar-roof-solutions.co.uk
www.newchannels.tv
  Reply With Quote
06-09-2011, 15:33   #5
Total Chaos
Registered User
Total Chaos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Jordanthorpe,near Totley and Dore
Total Posts: 4,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quint View Post
The Emley Moor Transmitter which serves more 4 million people across Yorkshire will switch to digital as of midnight tonight.

For anyone struggling to retune their boxes or need assistance New Channels in Sheffield are running a re-tune service. www.newchannels.tv 0114 3210704
CORRECTION-it will switch BBC2 over tonight and then in S8 it will be the 21st for the rest.
_______
Illuminati-Real Eyes Realise Real Lies
  Reply With Quote
06-09-2011, 21:28   #6
linzi w
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: shiregreen
Total Posts: 7
i was fuming when the switch over bagan here i was away on holiday and it messed my sky up so nothing recorded
  Reply With Quote
06-09-2011, 21:39   #7
kal el
Registered User
kal el's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: hillsborough
Total Posts: 377
you will have to re-tune tomorrow as the emliy moor is going to digital at midnight tonight.
  Reply With Quote
06-09-2011, 21:47   #8
GrahamY
Registered User
GrahamY's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Halfway
Total Posts: 1,014
linzi w, Sky sattelite is not affected by this, only Freeview.
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 09:45   #9
christine57
Registered User
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Total Posts: 2
yes we had this problem with our freeview last night, everything seems to be ok today though.
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 10:20   #10
marcy
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 144
i retuned this morning and have now lost channel's 21 and 22 and sky news on 82 now breaks up
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 10:36   #11
Rich
DS,Xbox360 gamer
Rich's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: S3 Netherthorpe (Stannington on weekends)
Total Posts: 29,498
Send a message via ICQ to Rich Send a message via MSN to Rich Send a message via Yahoo to Rich Send a message via Skype™ to Rich
I have no terrestrial signal on Freeview in S3, fortunately I have Sky so all's not totally lost
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 10:57   #12
quicken
Registered User
quicken's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Online
Total Posts: 3,212
its a rescan day for some of us today and the next will be the 21st i think
_______
I MAY BE SAD MAD BAD INSANE BUT STUPID IM NOT !
Ban Religion in Schools make indoctrination a thing of the past !
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discrim...ainst_atheists http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/...9B900G20131210
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 11:22   #13
shaun1e
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Total Posts: 21
yes had to retune tv twice
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 11:22   #14
julado
soup dragon
julado's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: I'm behind YOU....OH YES SHE IS!!!
Total Posts: 5,307
Send a message via Skype™ to julado
Our communal ariel used to be tuned to Emley Moor....then we had work done for the digital switchover and the company doing it (appointed by the council) pointed the bloody thing towards Sheffield....so now we get sod all in the way of programmes.

Even after the retune of the digibox loads of stuff missing...doughnuts!!!
_______
A TRUE friend is someone who reaches for your hand....but touches your heart
A TRUE friend knows the song of your soul and will sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words

GOD is watching you...from a distance
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 11:34   #15
The Chavs
Registered User
The Chavs's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: in my house...
Total Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quint View Post
For anyone struggling to retune their boxes or need assistance New Channels in Sheffield are running a re-tune service. www.newchannels.tv 0114 3210704
How much would that be?? I currently have sky tv which the upstairs TV's
(3) are connected to. However, all TVs upstairs are now blue screens and retuning is not getting anything at all. I need someone to retune these and connect to Sky box downstairs again.
_______
I started out with nothing and Ive got most of it left.
Any postings on this forum are my personal opinions only and should not be taken as having any endorsement or influence from anyone else, unless its late then its the beer talking.
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 13:37   #16
phawley
Registered User
phawley's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Chapeltown
Total Posts: 1,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chavs View Post
How much would that be?? I currently have sky tv which the upstairs TV's
(3) are connected to. However, all TVs upstairs are now blue screens and retuning is not getting anything at all. I need someone to retune these and connect to Sky box downstairs again.
As previously stated the current retuning program has no connection to the reception of Sky TV.
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 15:21   #17
The Chavs
Registered User
The Chavs's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: in my house...
Total Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by phawley View Post
As previously stated the current retuning program has no connection to the reception of Sky TV.
I appreciate that. However, for whatever reason, my tvs arent working so wondered how much it would be for someone to come out and tune them and reconnect them back to Sky downstairs. Ive tried putting the chanel on sky to 68 and returned the upstairs tv's but its not picking up anything.
_______
I started out with nothing and Ive got most of it left.
Any postings on this forum are my personal opinions only and should not be taken as having any endorsement or influence from anyone else, unless its late then its the beer talking.
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 15:32   #18
AtiAerials
Registered User
AtiAerials's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Sheffield, Richmond
Total Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chavs View Post
How much would that be?? I currently have sky tv which the upstairs TV's
(3) are connected to. However, all TVs upstairs are now blue screens and retuning is not getting anything at all. I need someone to retune these and connect to Sky box downstairs again.
if the tv's upstairs have not got freeview built-in or a freeview box connected to them then all your going to get is Sky on 6 or what ever the sky is tuned to on your tv's. But saying that all you should have only lost today is analogue ITV1, the rest will vanish 21st Sept for Emelymoor Transmitter.

25 callout charge for retuning. 07800 939686
_______
AtiAerials.co.uk 07800 939686
  Reply With Quote
07-09-2011, 16:56   #19
nannyH
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Total Posts: 368
mine keeps going of and saying no signal then comes back on
  Reply With Quote
10-09-2011, 10:16   #20
suze0
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Total Posts: 7
I am getting all channels perfectly thro TV but on Freeview HD Plus recorder all ITV channels and Sky News are blocking and breaking up continually. This has only started happening after the retune on 7th Sept... HELP
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 18:31.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014