Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Can you record sky +hd without viewing card ?

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
30-07-2011, 16:47   #1
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Hi people. I got my old sky +hd box out to put in my room, im no longer with sky and have lost the viewing card. It wont let me record anything without the card in. Can anyone tell me if just a sky + box, not a sky +hd box will record without a card ? Thanks for any help.
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 16:53   #2
Paul Blade
Born a Blade
Paul Blade's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sat here or somewhere else
Total Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by amy 20 View Post
Hi people. I got my old sky +hd box out to put in my room, im no longer with sky and have lost the viewing card. It wont let me record anything without the card in. Can anyone tell me if just a sky + box, not a sky +hd box will record without a card ? Thanks for any help.
Same here but a sky+ box but can't record owt as I thought

if it did would anyone pay for Sky at all
_______
A Friend will calm you down when you are angry but A Best Friend will skip beside you with a baseball bat singing "Someone's going to get it"
Sorry but sarcasm falls from my mouth, just like stupid falls from yours
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 17:12   #3
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Blade View Post
Same here but a sky+ box but can't record owt as I thought

if it did would anyone pay for Sky at all
Maybe not lol, but why do people want them then ? Would it work with a card in even if you no longer subscribe ?
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 17:14   #4
Paul Blade
Born a Blade
Paul Blade's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sat here or somewhere else
Total Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by amy 20 View Post
Maybe not lol, but why do people want them then ? Would it work with a card in even if you no longer subscribe ?
You could like me in the bedroom use it as a simple 'freeview' box and you do need a card
_______
A Friend will calm you down when you are angry but A Best Friend will skip beside you with a baseball bat singing "Someone's going to get it"
Sorry but sarcasm falls from my mouth, just like stupid falls from yours
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 17:20   #5
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Blade View Post
You could like me in the bedroom use it as a simple 'freeview' box and you do need a card
Is there anyway i can get an old card from anywhere ?
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 17:38   #6
medusa
mostly here
medusa's Avatar
 
Admin Team
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: in a recliner
Total Posts: 34,337
Not only can you not record if you don't have a viewing card, but if you were to put in a viewing card and get it all registered and then recorded loads of programmes, then you'd find that you were unable to view those programmes if you took out the viewing card.
_______
Insecurities are about as useful as putting the pin back in the grenade.

  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 17:40   #7
E-lectrican
Registered User
E-lectrican's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Total Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by amy 20 View Post
Is there anyway i can get an old card from anywhere ?
20 from sky for the freeview card...and if you put in another card..make sure its the white one...leave your box on all night and it should pair up
_______
Property/Rewire/up grade of installation./Socket and lighting installation.
PC REPAIRS..............ONE CHARGE 35.00...PLUS PARTS REQUIRED.
NO FIX NO FEE
07881896892
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
30-07-2011, 20:10   #8
the currs
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2010
Total Posts: 61
Sky + is a subscription service that is free as a sky customer when you pay for the other package etc, so without been a customer even with a free card it should not record....

and as any sky customer will tell you, if you do get a sky plus subscription you can record any channel regardless to your package, but you cannot view the recording unless your subscribed to that channel.
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 20:44   #9
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by medusa View Post
Not only can you not record if you don't have a viewing card, but if you were to put in a viewing card and get it all registered and then recorded loads of programmes, then you'd find that you were unable to view those programmes if you took out the viewing card.
Yes thats why i got it out because i had films on there. I cant believe they wont let you record after you cancel. I mean youve paid for the box so should be able to use the memory on it.
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 20:46   #10
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-lectrican View Post
20 from sky for the freeview card...and if you put in another card..make sure its the white one...leave your box on all night and it should pair up
Hi. If i get a freeview card will i be able to record ?
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 20:53   #11
Paul Blade
Born a Blade
Paul Blade's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sat here or somewhere else
Total Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by amy 20 View Post
Hi. If i get a freeview card will i be able to record ?
No all you are paying for is to watch live freeview channels to record channels you must subscribe to sky+ or +HD and keep up the subscription otherwise you lose the right to watch what you record as said by Medusa and the currs post 6 and 8
AFAIK the only way you can record programmes is to use a VCR or DVD recorder
_______
A Friend will calm you down when you are angry but A Best Friend will skip beside you with a baseball bat singing "Someone's going to get it"
Sorry but sarcasm falls from my mouth, just like stupid falls from yours

Last edited by Paul Blade; 30-07-2011 at 20:59.
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 20:59   #12
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Ok thanks. I dont need the card then as can get a load of channels without one.
  Reply With Quote
30-07-2011, 22:12   #13
the currs
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2010
Total Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by amy 20 View Post
Ok thanks. I dont need the card then as can get a load of channels without one.
you need a card to get the channels, your box wont decrypt the signal without a card, but unless you have a sky paid subscription you will not be able to record..
  Reply With Quote
31-07-2011, 10:43   #14
amy 20
Registered User
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: crookes
Total Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by the currs View Post
you need a card to get the channels, your box wont decrypt the signal without a card, but unless you have a sky paid subscription you will not be able to record..
Does everyone need a card to get channels ? I have no card in and the only freeview channels it wont let me get are dave,pick tv and yesterday, but can get loads of other channels what you cant get on freeview.
  Reply With Quote
31-07-2011, 12:03   #15
auto98uk
Lost the Game
auto98uk's Avatar
 
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Under the boardwalk
Total Posts: 10,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by the currs View Post
you need a card to get the channels, your box wont decrypt the signal without a card, but unless you have a sky paid subscription you will not be able to record..
um...clearly she doesn't, as she says she can get channels without one...
_______
Hail Pacifica
  Reply With Quote
31-07-2011, 12:31   #16
Paul Blade
Born a Blade
Paul Blade's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sat here or somewhere else
Total Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by auto98uk View Post
um...clearly she doesn't, as she says she can get channels without one...
I can't as soon as I either turn it on without a card or remove it a message comes up insert card on all freeview channels

Quote:
Originally Posted by amy 20 View Post
Does everyone need a card to get channels ? I have no card in and the only freeview channels it wont let me get are dave,pick tv and yesterday, but can get loads of other channels what you cant get on freeview.
AFAIK Dave and yesterday is on subscription only
Just checking
Yes subscription on Sky
I can get Pick free
_______
A Friend will calm you down when you are angry but A Best Friend will skip beside you with a baseball bat singing "Someone's going to get it"
Sorry but sarcasm falls from my mouth, just like stupid falls from yours
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:55.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014