Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Bents green school memories

Home > Sheffield > Sheffield History & Expats

Reply To Topic

03-05-2011, 12:35   #1
Ms Golightly

Total Posts: 1
I'm currently a teacher at Bents Green and was wondering if anyone could give me their memories of the school from the past so that the kids can contrast their experiences with others. Ta
03-05-2011, 13:22   #2
DUFFEMS

Total Posts: 6,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Golightly View Post
I'm currently a teacher at Bents Green and was wondering if anyone could give me their memories of the school from the past so that the kids can contrast their experiences with others. Ta
Has the newly built school opened today?
26-05-2012, 01:19   #3
starchaser

Total Posts: 7
I went to bents green school from 1967 to 1978 it was the best time for the school. The sun always seemed to shine the teachers were kind. I remember on a thursday afternoons going for a walk up the road to the round house touching it and walking back to school. Then the summer camp bridlington that was fun. And their are many more. The kids never left with any fancy exams but they left with much more than that they left with hope.
26-05-2012, 18:12   #4
deej

Total Posts: 63
My brother used to go, he was a boarder i think it was about 83 when he left. He used to go back & see staff, so they set him on in the kitchens (he always loved cooking), they sent him to college on day release. He loved it at Bents Green.
29-05-2012, 16:29   #5
starchaser

Who remembers the dentist on Leopold street Sheffield in the 1970,s. I will never forget sitting in the waiting room with about 8 other kids. When he came out Mr Copestake dressed from head to toe in green. then one by one the kids were took in and sat in the dentists chair then all you could hear was the screams

Last edited by starchaser; 29-05-2012 at 16:33.
29-05-2012, 19:56   #6
alfred rd

Total Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Golightly View Post