Sheffield Forum
Your message here

MOT only test centres?

Home > Sheffield > Sheffield News & Discussions

Reply To Topic

21-02-2010, 20:58   #1
icehockeyjoe

Total Posts: 98
I believe there are some MOT only test centres in Shefield which carry out tests but not repairs. Does anyone have a list of these, I'm looking for somewhere as near to Hillsborough as possible?
As a recently qualified driver I am wary of taking the car to the wrong garage and getting stung!
_______
http://www.facebook.com/charlieandelvis
http://www.folksy.com/shops/charlieandelvis
Charlie and Elvis Jewellery
Unique handmade jewellery with a vintage twist!
21-02-2010, 21:11   #2
kevvy

Total Posts: 533
Hi, don't know of any in Hillsborough. There's DOT MOT on Olive Grove Road that just do MOT's. I personally use Amberley Garage on Attercliffe Road, have done for years. They are a good bunch and are totally fair. Kev
21-02-2010, 21:12   #3
amzy87

Total Posts: 426
Hi,
I take mine to Ernest Thorpe MOT garage at Thurgoland. Its only about 15ish mins from Hillsbro.
Really nice guy that does it.
You dont make an appointment just take your car in (best taking it in when u have a couple of hours to spare incase there are any cars in front of you).
My dad has been taking his car there for years and I started taking mine!!

MOT only so no need to make up faults to get more from you.

Mine cost 35 for MOT last year and went straight thru.

Amzy87
_______
:)
21-02-2010, 21:17   #4
amzy87

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevvy View Post
Hi, don't know of any in Hillsborough. There's DOT MOT on Olive Grove Road that just do MOT's. I personally use Amberley Garage on Attercliffe Road, have done for years. They are a good bunch and are totally fair. Kev
I used to use Amberly and found them ok till I took my car for MOT and had to have all brake pipes/pads done.
Cost me 300 which was fair enough, but they had fiddled about under bonet and as soon as I pulled out my sterio started going crackers.