Sheffield Forum

Vaillant EcoTech Pro 28 with error code of F75. Any help?

Home > Sheffield > Sheffield Property & Housing

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
31-12-2009, 12:48   #1
Hayley85
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Total Posts: 80
Got up this morning and theres no hot water and theres an error message on the boiler saying F75. Does anyone know if this is fixable ourselves or if we'll have to call someone out?

Still got heating though thankfully but cant believe this has happened now! Any ideas how much it could cost to fix if we need to call someone? Looking on the website it appears that we're just out of the 1 year warranty for the EcoTech Pro as it was installed on the 3/12/08 how annoying!!
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:00   #2
thenugnug
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Total Posts: 34
Hi there i have the same boiler and an F75 is "no pressure rise detedted on turning on the pump" ,the possible causes for this are the water pressure sensor and/or pump are defective, air in the heating system(quick bleeder defective),too little water in appliance;check adjustable bypass;connect external expansion vessel to return. This is the info in the boiler manual anyway so you could try blleding all the rads for a start,hope this helps if not you need a gas safe registered plumber to come and sort it.
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:07   #3
Complete-Heat
Registered User
Complete-Heat's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Ecclesall
Total Posts: 1,181
At the moment don't bleed the rads. Can you let me know what bar pressure is in the boiler....it should be 1.0 bar.

F75 sometimes comes up instead of F22. Usually means low water pressure detected by a sensor next to the pump. try topping it up with some water first. Use the inbuilt filling valves or the silver braided filling loop
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:22   #4
Hayley85
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Total Posts: 80
It says 1.7 for pressure so I think the pressures fine, also correction on the info above we dont have heating as ive just noticed all the rads are going cold so no heating or water.

Do you think we should call someone out? Will it be expensive?
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:34   #5
Complete-Heat
Registered User
Complete-Heat's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Ecclesall
Total Posts: 1,181
May be a stuck pump then...try this for me. turn boiler off at main switch on front of boiler. Then go and run a hot water tap, then back to boiler and switch it on. Then press the "i" button and a S code will come up. Tell me the S code
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:41   #6
Hayley85
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Total Posts: 80
Its says S.97
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:47   #7
Hayley85
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Total Posts: 80
also the boilers now making a really awful noise like its trying to start up but cant should i turn it off?
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
31-12-2009, 13:50   #8
Complete-Heat
Registered User
Complete-Heat's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Ecclesall
Total Posts: 1,181
That means your water pressure sensor hasn't sensed a pressure rise. So it is either a faulty water pressure sensor or a stuck pump. Booth easy enough to fix as sometimes its due to an airlock, but i'm not in Sheffield until Tuesday.

May have to get one of the other guys off here in to fix it.

Leave the hot tap running and turn it off and on a few times at the boiler main switch -- if it is air or stuck pump may free it up. If after 2 or 3 times u still getting F75 then need someone out.
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 13:52   #9
Complete-Heat
Registered User
Complete-Heat's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Ecclesall
Total Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayley85 View Post
also the boilers now making a really awful noise like its trying to start up but cant should i turn it off?
Yes.... sounds like i said...stuck pump, water pressure switch and/or airlock
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 14:19   #10
Hayley85
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Total Posts: 80
Thanks! I've tried that and the fault code hasnt come back on as yet and the hot waters back working and the heating phew but the boilers still making a weird sound like a whirring noise. Should we just wait to see if it breaks again before asking someone to see it or try and found out the cause of the noise?
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 15:47   #11
corgigasman
Registered User
corgigasman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: sheffield
Total Posts: 1,471
My mates had this problem couple of weeks ago (F75), ended up fitting new pump but at least it is working now
_______
Available for private domestic work. Ideal approved installer. Tel : 07914356608 Gas-safe : 504850 Not VAT registered so no VAT to pay on any quotes
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 16:25   #12
barts96
Registered User
barts96's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: s5,lower shiregreen
Total Posts: 3,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by corgigasman View Post
My mates had this problem couple of weeks ago (F75), ended up fitting new pump but at least it is working now
i am sure you these inside out now
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 16:36   #13
corgigasman
Registered User
corgigasman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: sheffield
Total Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by barts96 View Post
i am sure you these inside out now

Getting to know some boilers a little TOO well
_______
Available for private domestic work. Ideal approved installer. Tel : 07914356608 Gas-safe : 504850 Not VAT registered so no VAT to pay on any quotes
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 16:51   #14
Complete-Heat
Registered User
Complete-Heat's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Ecclesall
Total Posts: 1,181
Solid boiler but the ecotech pro is prone to a sticking pump which i think the op has.

Wirring noise is either air stuck in pump or bearings on the way out.

Good thing about Vaillants is they often diagnose themselves if you know how to get the 'S' codes and 'D' diagnostic codes....
  Reply With Quote
31-12-2009, 17:30   #15
corgigasman
Registered User
corgigasman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: sheffield
Total Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Complete-Heat View Post
Solid boiler but the ecotech pro is prone to a sticking pump which i think the op has.

Wirring noise is either air stuck in pump or bearings on the way out.

Good thing about Vaillants is they often diagnose themselves if you know how to get the 'S' codes and 'D' diagnostic codes....

Yep, fault codes are pretty good on these. Did get F28 the other day on another one (usually no gas etc, etc), condense had frozen and backed right up into boiler. Defrosted, stripped down, dried, refitted ....working now...you live and learn, lol. Still recommend these and fitted about 300, 3/300 needed attention in last 5 yrs so not bad,
Steve
_______
Available for private domestic work. Ideal approved installer. Tel : 07914356608 Gas-safe : 504850 Not VAT registered so no VAT to pay on any quotes
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 13:28.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014