Sheffield Forum
Your message here

Resetting IP address in CMD

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
16-04-2005, 12:34   #1
Viper_GTSR
Registered User
Viper_GTSR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: noitacoL
Total Posts: 333
I need help on resseting my IP address using the windows command prompt. A short while ago my internet went down and when we phoned the tech support line we eventually found out that windows had re assigned the default IP, which the modem didnt work with.

We were told to enter something like ip [Bit I cant remember] refresh or reset.

A freind on the same isp has the same problem and the tech support lines are down, anyone know what I need to type?

Any help greatly appreciated

Thanks
_______
If it's stupid, but it works, it isn't stupid!
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 12:35   #2
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 53,020
ipconfig /release

then

ipconfig /renew

you could also double click the network icon, goto support and click repair.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 13:30   #3
sccsux
Account Closed
sccsux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Googling "S1toS60" will find us:)
Total Posts: 14,520
Quote:
Originally posted by Cyclone
ipconfig /release

then

ipconfig /renew

you could also double click the network icon, goto support and click repair.

Or (from within windows) you could click <Start> - Run and type winipcfg and press <Enter>!
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 14:30   #4
punk
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Total Posts: 804
Quote:
Or (from within windows) you could click <Start> - Run and type winipcfg and press <Enter>!
I think that only works in win98, ME, etc. Im guessing he has win2k or XP as he asked specifically about CMD and not COMMAND.

"ipconfig /renew" is the way to do it. Im not sure that doing "ipconfig /release" first adds anything to it though?
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 16:17   #5
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 53,020
Quote:
Originally posted by punk
I think that only works in win98, ME, etc. Im guessing he has win2k or XP as he asked specifically about CMD and not COMMAND.

"ipconfig /renew" is the way to do it. Im not sure that doing "ipconfig /release" first adds anything to it though?
it specifically informs the dhcp server that the address has been relinquished. It means that you will most likely get a different ip when you request one rather than being assigned the same one.

and yes, winipcfg is ME and 98 only.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 17:47   #6
Avalon
Registered User
Avalon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Total Posts: 1,935
If you want to do it properly you can always flush the dns cache too!

Ipconfig /release
Ipconfig /flushdns
Ipconfig /renew

And then theres always net stat and netview to see what your connected to...i have a big list of DOS commands if anyone is remotely interested.....i sound like a geek now right?
_______
Bouncing sheep are fun.

Last edited by Avalon; 16-04-2005 at 18:44.
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 18:16   #7
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 53,020
netview? I've never heard that one, and it gives a command not found error.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
16-04-2005, 18:31   #8
Avalon
Registered User
Avalon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Total Posts: 1,935
Quote:
Originally posted by Cyclone
netview? I've never heard that one, and it gives a command not found error.
NET VIEW Displays a list of computers in a specified workgroup or the shared resources available on a specified computer.
NET VIEW (\\computer) (/YES)
NET VIEW (/WORKGROUP:wgname) (/YES)


computer Specifies the name of the computer whose shared resources you want to see listed.
/WORKGROUP Specifies that you want to view the names of the computers in another workgroup that share resources.
wgname Specifies the name of the workgroup whose computer names you want to view.
/YES Carries out the NET VIEW command without first prompting you to provide information or confirm actions.

To display a list of computers in your workgroup that share
resources, type NET VIEW without options.

_______________________________________________

So it is a valid command when used with the correct syntax. I have used it serveral times in the course of my job, though it is only useful in some circumstances!
_______
Bouncing sheep are fun.
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 18:41   #9
Cyclone
Registered User
Cyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Wadlsey
Total Posts: 53,020
oh, the space being quite key to the command.

There's a whole list of net x commands.
_______
Ask yourself, what would Chuck Norris do?
  Reply With Quote
16-04-2005, 18:45   #10
Avalon
Registered User
Avalon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Total Posts: 1,935
Quote:
Originally posted by Cyclone
oh, the space being quite key to the command.

There's a whole list of net x commands.
Yeah the space is imprtant in that one - my fault! Sorry about that!
_______
Bouncing sheep are fun.
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014