Restaurants on Ecclesall Road

Taking my GF out for a meal on saturday want to know of any nice BUT cheap-ish places to eat.

Im a student please be kind

Last time I checked there was Cafe Uno near the Hunters Bar roundabout, which is nice and pretty cheap.

edit:

Sticking with the chains, there is also a Cafe Rouge further down the street (about half-way between Hunters and Safeway roundabouts).

edit 2:

Welcome to the forums - tell your mates :thumbsup:

i went to la luna (at banner cross, eccy rd) earlier on in the week and was mightily unimpressed. it was the first time i've ever left 3/4 of my meal on the plate at the end of the main course.

the menu was nothing special or different from all the other average italian restaurants in sheffield and it was generally £2 per course more expensive than the rest.

my company enjoyed the meal so maybe judgements depend on expectations and experience. my fat belly can testify the amount of lovely restaurants i've been to! maybe i'm being a snob, i'm lucky to have eaten in some of londons top italians. but i expect fresh ingredients when paying for food! some fresh basil and vine tomatoes could have easily changed my mind about my bland dolmio sauce dish.

on the plus side it is bring your own wine and the waiters were attentive and accommodating and theres always the banner pub next door for a bag of crisps!

Cafe Rouge is nice but I consider the food relatively expensive (particularly for a student).

Cafe Uno is a good choice.

Originally posted by tinajones

i went to la luna (at banner cross, eccy rd) earlier on in the week and was mightily unimpressed.

... it was generally £2 per course more expensive than the rest.

on the plus side it is bring your own wine and the waiters were attentive and accommodating

I've been a couple of times and not been disappointed. I've certainly had better Italian but I've paid more for it. If you know where there's better and cheaper Italian in Sheffield please tell us where.