Sheffield Forum
Your message here

How to rename a link?

Home > General > Computer & Tech Chat

Reply To Topic
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
17-03-2007, 15:55   #1
BigDonWizzle
The Doctor
BigDonWizzle's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: SHEFFIELD STEEL CITY
Total Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to BigDonWizzle
Could someone tell me how do u rename a link? Like change link to say ,, see here, with here underlined being the link instead of the full address.
_______
POSOTIVE ENERGY ACTIVATES CONSTANT ELEVATION.
  Reply With Quote
17-03-2007, 16:16   #2
SpeedwayDan
Registered User
SpeedwayDan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: handsworth
Total Posts: 2,435
Send a message via MSN to SpeedwayDan
<a href="url">Text to be displayed</a>

where it says url type in the address for what you're linking to, and where it says text to be displayed, type in what you want the link to say on your page
_______
life is "trying things to see if they work"
  Reply With Quote
17-03-2007, 16:44   #3
BigDonWizzle
The Doctor
BigDonWizzle's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: SHEFFIELD STEEL CITY
Total Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to BigDonWizzle
thanks.....
_______
POSOTIVE ENERGY ACTIVATES CONSTANT ELEVATION.
  Reply With Quote
20-03-2007, 01:30   #4
hamzahanif
Registered User
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Total Posts: 9
very Thank
  Reply With Quote
20-03-2007, 06:30   #5
bensonhedges
Registered User
bensonhedges's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Chapeltown
Total Posts: 1,710
didnt work for me
  Reply With Quote
20-03-2007, 09:17   #6
Hecate
Registered User
Hecate's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: the back of beyond.
Total Posts: 23,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDonWizzle View Post
Could someone tell me how do u rename a link? Like change link to say ,, see here, with here underlined being the link instead of the full address.
For links on the forum? You need to do:

[ URL="http://www.yourlink.com"]Your clickable text[ /URL]

Remove spaces for it to work.
_______
Though you say I'm unkind
I'm being as nice as I can
  Reply With Quote
20-03-2007, 17:42   #7
SpeedwayDan
Registered User
SpeedwayDan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: handsworth
Total Posts: 2,435
Send a message via MSN to SpeedwayDan
oops sorry, my mistake, i presumed the questionw as regarding html thats due to me spending the past few months studying this subject so i had it on the brain, sorry
_______
life is "trying things to see if they work"
  Reply With Quote
20-03-2007, 20:07   #8
bensonhedges
Registered User
bensonhedges's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Chapeltown
Total Posts: 1,710
showbiz news here

  Reply With Quote
21-03-2007, 18:28   #9
caz3098
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Total Posts: 18
Put your curser on the hyperlink and right mouse click, move across to edit hyperlink. Look for the box saying text to display and type in text. thanks
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 15:44   #10
genting
Registered User
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Total Posts: 19
Hi hecate,
i'm new in this forum and also new for PC/software users.. can you teach me more specific about this post? Thanx..
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 15:49   #11
anywebsite
Registered User
anywebsite's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Sheffield
Total Posts: 6,288
Status: Online
PHP Code:
[URL="http://www.digitalspy.co.uk"]showbiz news here[/URL
_______
Web Designer
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 15:57   #12
melthebell
*gets coat*
melthebell's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Near whitby, originally from Sheffield
Total Posts: 46,883
Send a message via MSN to melthebell Send a message via Yahoo to melthebell
on here you click the little planet / link icon when posting a rply and paste in the link while selecting the text you want to be displayed
_______
Does your wife know what your up to mel when your in your own little world?
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 15:57   #13
genting
Registered User
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Total Posts: 19
thanx for the reply.. but, should i make it in notepad 1st or straight away into the post?
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:03   #14
melthebell
*gets coat*
melthebell's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Near whitby, originally from Sheffield
Total Posts: 46,883
Send a message via MSN to melthebell Send a message via Yahoo to melthebell
Quote:
Originally Posted by genting View Post
thanx for the reply.. but, should i make it in notepad 1st or straight away into the post?
eh?
i normally have the url already open or already copied

then in the post select the text you want displayed, then click the little planet, then paste the url in, then click ok
_______
Does your wife know what your up to mel when your in your own little world?
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:11   #15
genting
Registered User
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Total Posts: 19
then how bout the formula the 'anywebsite' gave to me? i've tried so many times.. but still can not do it.. lol.. hope you don't mind.. coz absolutely, i'm newbie for this!!
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:13   #16
melthebell
*gets coat*
melthebell's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Near whitby, originally from Sheffield
Total Posts: 46,883
Send a message via MSN to melthebell Send a message via Yahoo to melthebell
showbiz news here

works here?

edit:- i just copied and pasted it

once it works, delete the http / uk bit and add your own url
then delete the showbiz news here bit and add your own text
like this


or as i said before click the little planet icon when creating a post
_______
Does your wife know what your up to mel when your in your own little world?

Last edited by melthebell; 19-12-2010 at 16:15.
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:16   #17
Hecate
Registered User
Hecate's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: the back of beyond.
Total Posts: 23,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by genting View Post
then how bout the formula the 'anywebsite' gave to me? i've tried so many times.. but still can not do it.. lol.. hope you don't mind.. coz absolutely, i'm newbie for this!!
That will work. Remember, though, that you have to have (I think) five posts before you're able to post a link.
_______
Though you say I'm unkind
I'm being as nice as I can
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:17   #18
genting
Registered User
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Total Posts: 19
i wish i can try that.. but the server wouldn't allow me until i got 5 post.. at least! and currently i just posted 4.. lol.. wait for another last post then..
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:19   #19
genting
Registered User
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Total Posts: 19
Hecate.. it was correct!! and finally this is my 5 posted.. as rules from the server! lol!!
  Reply With Quote
19-12-2010, 16:19   #20
melthebell
*gets coat*
melthebell's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Near whitby, originally from Sheffield
Total Posts: 46,883
Send a message via MSN to melthebell Send a message via Yahoo to melthebell
Quote:
Originally Posted by genting View Post
i wish i can try that.. but the server wouldn't allow me until i got 5 post.. at least! and currently i just posted 4.. lol.. wait for another last post then..
ah yeah that doesnt help
_______
Does your wife know what your up to mel when your in your own little world?
  Reply With Quote
Reply To Topic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT. The time now is 14:22.
POSTS ON THIS FORUM ARE NOT ACTIVELY MONITORED
Click "Report Post" under any post which may breach our terms of use.
©2002-2014 Sheffield Forum | Powered by vBulletin ©2014